Starred Reviews for Hell-Bent

For all the Yogis out there looking for their next yoga memoir fix, look no further than HELL-BENT: Obsession, Pain, and the Search for Something Like Transcendence in Competitive Yoga by Benjamin Lorr.

Benjamin Lorr walked into his first yoga studio on a whim, overweight and curious, and quickly found the yoga reinventing his life. He was studying Bikram Yoga (or “hot yoga”) when a run-in with a master and competitive yoga champion led him into an obsessive subculture—a group of yogis for whom eight hours of practice a day in 110- degree heat was just the beginning.

"Meticulously researched, suspenseful and engrossing." -Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Backbending and bliss, stretching and sweating, bonding and betrayal have rarely seemed so complementary. Hell-Bent is sure to turn readers' impressions of yoga upside down." -Booklist (starred review)

Read-alike:

POSER: My Life in Twenty-three Yoga Poses by Claire Dederer.

HELL-BENT will be available this month from St. Martin's Press.

Are you looking for a hot yoga class etehir Bikram or not in Punta Gorda orPort Charlotte?I am interested in it and would love to find a studio in those locations or nearby thatoffers it.

Arth
October 29, 2012
3:44 am

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.