Home » Reviews and Publicity » Starred Reviews for Hell-Bent

Starred Reviews for Hell-Bent

For all the Yogis out there looking for their next yoga memoir fix, look no further than HELL-BENT: Obsession, Pain, and the Search for Something Like Transcendence in Competitive Yoga by Benjamin Lorr. 

Benjamin Lorr walked into his first yoga studio on a whim, overweight and curious, and quickly found the yoga reinventing his life. He was studying Bikram Yoga (or “hot yoga”) when a run-in with a master and competitive yoga champion led him into an obsessive subculture—a group of yogis for whom eight hours of practice a day in 110- degree heat was just the beginning.

"Meticulously researched, suspenseful and engrossing." -Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Backbending and bliss, stretching and sweating, bonding and betrayal have rarely seemed so complementary. Hell-Bent is sure to turn readers' impressions of yoga upside down." -Booklist (starred review)

Read-alike:

POSER: My Life in Twenty-three Yoga Poses by Claire Dederer.

HELL-BENT will be available this month from St. Martin's Press.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.