Articles tagged "Wake"

Teen Talk Tuesday (2/18/14 Edition)

In honor of today's Early Word YA Galley Chat, we're taking a look at the latest and greatest teen titles from St. Martin's Griffin. Read on, then join us and @earlyword at 5pm EST, hashtag #ewyagc.

ELEGY by Amanda Hocking (Watersong #4, Trade Paperback edition)
The explosive finale to the Watersong series is now available in trade paperback! Gemma holds the key to breaking the siren curse but she'll have to fight Penn in order to save everything and everyone she holds dear.
Also available in the series: WAKE (Book 1), LULLABY (Book 2) and TIDAL (Book 3)

BEFORE MY EYES by Caroline Bock
A powerful new young adult novel about a fateful Long Island summer told from the perspective of three teenagers whose lives will never be the same. "Gripping, disturbing and nuanced." — Kirkus Reviews

THE HAVEN by Carol Lynch Williams
For the teens at The Haven, the world beyond the towering stone wall that surrounds the premises is a dangerous unknown and always has been since the hospital was established in the year 2020. It was built to help control the Disease that claims limbs and lungs–and memories–but what if it's not the safe place it claims to be? Award-winning YA novelist Williams' new novel is "Deliciously enigmatic." — Kirkus Reviews

Hope to see you later at #ewyagc!
Read more

Teen Talk Tuesday (1/21/14 Edition)

Today we're talkin' teen titles! Please save all OMGs & SQUEEs for today's Early Word YA Galley Chat at 5pm EST (@earlyword, #ewyagc). Only kidding-go nuts if you want! PS: Don’t forget to download our 2014 Books for Teens poster – now with more kittens!

TIMESTORM by Julie Cross (Tempest #3)
The battle between the Tempest division and Eyewall comes to a shocking conclusion in this final installment of the Tempest trilogy.
Also available in the series: TEMPEST (Book 1) and VORTEX (Book 2)

FLAME by Amy Kathleen Ryan (Sky Chasers #3)
In the thrilling conclusion to the Sky Chasers series Waverly, Kieran, and Seth struggle to survive on-board the New Horizon—and take down their enemies before it's too late.
Also available in the series: GLOW (Book 1) and SPARK (Book 2)

STORMBRINGER by Shannon Delany (Weather Witch #2)
In the second book in the Weather Witch series, Jordan Astrea learns of her true powers while in the final stages of her brutal training to become a Conductor—the Weather Witch who serves as a living battery to keep the massive airliner Artemesia aloft.
Also available in the series: Weather Witch (Book 1)

TIDAL by Amanda Hocking (Watersong #3, Trade Paperback edition)
Now available in trade paperback for the first time, this spellbinding third book in the Watersong series has Gemma fighting to break a curse in order to save everything and everyone she holds dear.
Also available in the series: WAKE (Book 1), LULLABY (Book 2) and ELEGY (Book 4)

Hope to see you later at #ewyagc (remember, 5pm EST)!
Read more

First in the Never-Before-Published Series from Amanda Hocking!

I'm back from sunny Seattle (I can't believe I just said that!) and the brilliant weather got me in the mood to talk about WAKE, the first book in Amanda Hocking's new never-before-published YA paranormal romance series!

From a writer who needs no introduction comes the story of a girl-turned-siren and the new life, loves, and threats she faces while mastering her new siren powers.

io9io9 included WAKE on their list of "All The Science Fiction and Fantasy Books You Can’t Afford to Miss in August." They said, "August's new book releases are just packed with brilliant new ideas and thrilling stories, from some of the world's best writers." We agree!

And Booklist said, "[WAKE] effectively melds myth and contemporary teen life. High school, family, young love, and mythology all combine to create an easy-to-read paranormal suspense story that will have fans eagerly awaiting new installments."

Dive in (mermaid joke!) by watching the book trailer now:

wake trailer

WAKE will be available this month from St. Martin's Griffin.

Read more

The Ultimate #BookBattle2 Webinar Title List

Today at 2pm Talia and Chris (Sterling) are going head-to-head in a reprise of their Oscar-nominated book buzz performance from ALA Annual and you don't want to miss it this time around. Sign up now!

UPDATE: This event is now over. The archived Booklist webinar will be available here soon!

Here's a sneak peek at the books that Talia will be talking about this afternoon (and see her full slide deck here!). WARNING: Major spoilers below!

talia and chris

50 SHADES OF GREY Read-Alikes:

WILD CARD by Lora Leigh

BLUSH by Opal Carew

PANIC SNAP by Laura Reese

TOPPING FROM BELOW by Laura Reese

Adult Titles:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

A KILLING IN THE HILLS by Julia Keller

ROGUE by Mark Sullivan

YOUNG PHILBY by Robert Littell

CHINESE WHISKERS by Pallavi Aiyar

PAW PRINTS IN THE MOONLIGHT by Denis O'Connor

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

THE FORGETTING TREE by Tatjana Soli

THE ELEMENTALS by Francesca Lia Block

GRACE GROWS by Shelle Sumners

HOW I CAME TO SPARKLE AGAIN by Kaya McLaren

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff

THIS BOOK IS FULL OF SPIDERS by David Wong

SHAKESPEARE'S TREMOR AND ORWELL'S COUGH by John J. Ross, M.D.

WE KILLED by Yael Kohen

Teen Titles:

WAKE and LULLABY by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

MIDNIGHT CITY by J. Barton Mitchell

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

And, of course...

PIPPI MOVES IN! by Astrid Lindgren

Read more

Bad Boy and Wake: 2013 BFYA Nominees!

You know what, guys?

We never properly celebrated the fact that two of our totally stellar teen titles from St. Martin's Griffin were officially nominated for YALSA's 2013 Best Fiction for Young Adults reading list!

Well, it's never too late to party, so let's hear it for...

BAD BOY
Dream Jordan

Kate has been institutionalized her entire life, but things start to look up when she connects with a handsome stranger. But can she heed the warning signs of his abusive behavior?

WAKE
Amanda Hocking

Gemma's graceful swimming draws the attention of Penn, Thea, and Lexi, the gorgeous newcomers to her sleepy beachside town. But popularity isn't everything, and the dark secret they harbor threatens everything.

YALSA compiles this annual list to provide librarians with a resource to use for collection development and reader's advisory purposes.

The selection committee will discuss all of the excellent nominations at ALA Annual next month and finish their deliberations at Midwinter in January during which the final BFYA list will be selected and announced!

Read more

Boston Book Buzz: For Teens!

The Boston Book Buzz is currently underway!

For those of us following along at home check out the hastag #bostonbookbuzz and I've listed below all of the teen titles that Talia will be presenting (see her slide show here)!

FIERCE READS

STRUCK by Jennifer Bosworth

OF POSEIDON by Anna Banks

MONUMENT 14 by Emmy Laybourne

SHADOW AND BONE by Leigh Bardugo

Also see: FierceReads.com

MORE TITLES FOR TEENS

WAKE by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK and GLOW by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

Read more

Books for Teens: Class of 2012!

Books for Teens class of 2012 yearbook page

Click here for a printable PDF of the above flier!

Welcome to our list of featured teen titles for 2012.

Here you'll meet time-travelers, trolls, and sirens. You'll trek through deep space, uncover dangerous secrets, and hunt down demons. You'll learn to ride a horse and raise the dead.

Your heart will be broken, you will find courage when there's little hope, and you will come to know your true self.

Join us on a new adventure!

Amanda Hocking is widely considered the exemplar of self-publishing success in the digital age and we are delighted she has joined us at Macmillan! Over the next year you'll see two exciting series from Hocking: the USA Today bestselling Trylle series, which has already been optioned for film, and the never-before-published Watersong series. Each of the Trylle novels will also contain all-new, never-before-seen short stories set in the magical world of the Trylle!

SWITCHED

SWITCHED

Amanda Hocking
978-1-250-00631-8 | January 2012 | Trylle Series #1

A couple things made that day stand out more than any other: it was my sixth birthday, and my mother was wielding a knife.

When Wendy Everly was six-years-old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. It isn't until eleven years later that Wendy discovers her mother might have been right. With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed--a world both beautiful and frightening, and Wendy's not sure she wants to be a part of it.

This book contains a new, never-before-published bonus story, “The Vittra Attacks,” set in the magical world of the Trylle.

Read the first pages of SWITCHED on Facebook now!

TORN

Amanda Hocking
978-1-250-00632-5 | February 2012 | Trylle Series #2

Wendy thought she finally understood who she was and what she wanted, but now she's caught between two worlds, torn between love and duty, and she must decide what life she is going to lead.

This book contains a new, never-before-published bonus story, “One Day, Three Ways,” set in the magical world of the Trylle.

"Fans of the series will enjoy watching on as Wendy continues to wrestle with issues of belonging, particularly when both the Trylle and the Vittra claim her as their chosen one." -Kirkus Reviews

ASCEND

Amanda Hocking
978-1-250-00633-2 | April 2012 | Trylle Series #3

With a war looming on the horizon, Wendy’s fate seems sealed. But everything she sacrificed might be in vain if she can’t save the ones she loves. Her whole life has been leading up to this, and it’s all coming to an end.

This book contains a new, never-before-published bonus story, “Ever After,” set in the magical world of the Trylle.

"Hocking sure knows how to bring it." -Kirkus Reviews


WAKE

Amanda Hocking
978-1-250-00812-1 | August 2012 | Watersong #1

Nominated for YALSA's 2013 Best Fiction for Young Adults!

Even over the sea, Thea could smell the blood on her. When she breathed in, it filled her with a familiar hunger that haunted her dreams.

Gemma Fisher lives an ordinary life in the quiet seaside town of Capri, but when three beautiful girls arrive and mesmerize her friends and neighbors everything changes. After a chance encounter with the girls, Gemma wakes up alone on the beach with no memory of what occurred. Now Gemma has powers she can’t control, she’s growing more beautiful, and she has a strange effect on men that makes them unable to resist her—especially her voice. Soon she must make a decision: keep the life she no longer fits into or follow the call of the Watersong into a world brimming with dark beauty and secrets.


LULLABY

Amanda Hocking
978-1-250-00565-6 | November 2012 | Watersong #2

The enchanting second book in the Watersong series following the adventures in WAKE. Harper only wanted a safe, normal life. But when her younger sister Gemma runs off with a dangerous clique of magical girls everything changes.

TEMPEST

Julie Cross
HC: 978-0-312-56889-4 | January 2012 | Tempest Trilogy #1
TP: 978-1-250-01120-6 | December 2012

Okay, so it's true. I can time-travel. But it's not as exciting as it sounds.

Jackson Meyer spends most of his time in 2009, but he can travel back through time. It’s not like the movies--nothing changes, there are no space-time-continuum issues--it’s just harmless fun. That is until dangerous strangers arrive at his dorm and shoot his girlfriend. In his panic, Jackson jumps to 2007, but this time he can't get back. Now he must find a way to return to 2009 and save the girl he loves.

Film rights for TEMPEST have already been optioned by Summit Entertainment, the studio behind the Twilight movies!

"With standout and welcome details and a fresh plot, Tempest is an amazing book." —Claire V., 13 for School Library Journal's Book Reviews by Young Adults

"It is equal parts adventure, romance, science fiction and touching family drama; readers will turn the last page and find themselves wishing they could 'jump' to the future and read the sequel." -Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Watch the book trailer for TEMPEST here and read the short story prequel on Facebook now!

GlowGLOW

Amy Kathleen Ryan
HC: 978-0-312-59056-7 | September 2011 | Sky Chasers #1
TP: 978-1-250-00783-4 | July 2012

Nominated for YALSA’s 2013 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers!

The other ship hung in the sky like a pendant, silver in the ether light cast by the nebula. Waverly and Kieran, lying together on their mattress of hay bales, took turns peering at it through a spyglass.

This 2012 Best Fiction for Young Adults-nominated title will take your teens into deep space. Part of the first generation to be successfully conceived on the space ship Empyrean, 15-year-old Waverly and her boyfriend Kieran will be pioneers of New Earth. But a violent betrayal by the Empyrean's sister ship will change everything. Waverly and Kieran are separated and each find themselves at the helm of dangerous missions.

School Library Journal gave GLOW a starred review and Booklist said, "Fans of the Hunger Games series will zip through and clamor for the next installment."

Watch the book trailer for GLOW here.

Read more