Articles tagged "The Beautiful Mystery"

Top eBook Lends for Libraries

Happy Monday everyone! As Talia mentioned on Friday, the ELEANOR & PARK eBook is now available for lending! HUZZAH!

Here are some other newly available eBooks your patrons might be interested in:

BAD BLOOD by Dana Stabenow
ILLICIT by Opal Carew
THE FOURTH ESTATE by Jeffrey Archer
EVE OF CHAOS by Sylvia Day
THE POWER TRIP by Jackie Collins
CALLING ME HOME by Julie Kibler
THE FUN PARTS by Sam Lipsyte
THE SUNSHINE WHEN SHE'S GONE by Thea Goodman
DEATH, DOOM, AND DETENTION by Darynda Jones
IF YOU FIND ME by Emily Murdoch
Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler
THE SHELL SEEKERS by Rosamunde Pilcher


Want to know what patrons have been checking out? Here are the top Macmillan e-lending titles* to date:

ENDER'S GAME by Orson Scott Card
MINE TILL MIDNIGHT by Lisa Kleypas
KILLING KENNEDY by Bill O'Reilly
KILLING LINCOLN by Bill O'Reilly
RAINSHADOW ROAD by Lisa Kleypas
THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny
THE BEEKEEPER'S APPRENTICE by Laurie R. King |
CHRISTMAS EVE AT FRIDAY HARBOR by Lisa Kleypas
TELL ME LIES by Jennifer Crusie
COME HOME by Lisa Scottoline
A WALLFLOWER CHRISTMAS by Lisa Kleypas
MARRIED BY MORNING by Lisa Kleypas
"A" IS FOR ALIBI by Sue Grafton
SWORN TO SILENCE by Linda Castillo
TEMPT ME AT TWILIGHT by Lisa Kleypas
SPEAKER FOR THE DEAD by Orson Scott Card
THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK by Matthew Quick
LOVE IN A NUTSHELL by Janet Evanovich & Dorien Kelly
LOVE IN THE AFTERNOON by Lisa Kleypas
SEDUCE ME AT SUNRISE by Lisa Kleypas
WHERE WE BELONG by Emily Giffin
A TRICK OF THE LIGHT by Louise Penny
BLUE HEAVEN by C.J. Box
WICKED APPETITE by Janet Evanovich

Read more

Thriller Thursday (9/19/13 Edition)

Today marks the start of Bouchercon, the world’s leading convention for crime fiction writers and their adoring fans. Our own Steve Hamilton is the Toastmaster Guest of Honor and we've got three great books nominated for Anthony Awards:

Anthony Award nominees
Best Novel
THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny
THE OTHER WOMAN by Hank Phillippi Ryan

&

Best First Novel
DON'T EVER GET OLD by Daniel Friedman


Congratulations to the nominees!

UPDATE: a HUGE congratulations to Louise Penny who won the Anthony Award for Best Novel at Bouchercon 2013, this past Saturday, 9/21. This is Louise Penny’s 4th consecutive and 5th overall Anthony Award!

Now on to our #ThrillerThursday picks:

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (7/15/2013 Edition)

Helloooooo, Monday!

Welcome to another glorious week, librarian friends. Today we're celebrating nominees and winners of all kinds.

- The 2013 Macavity Award nominations have been announced by Mystery Readers International and we're delighted to see some of our titles featured in several categories.

Best Mystery Novel:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

THE OTHER WOMAN by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Best First Mystery Novel:

DON'T EVER GET OLD by Daniel Friedman

Sue Feder Historical Memorial Award:

A CITY OF BROKEN GLASS by Rebecca Cantrell

See the full list at MysteryReaders.org.

- The Private Eye Writers of America also recently announced their 2013 Shamus Awards shortlist! Nominees include:

Best Hardcover PI Novel:

HUNTING SWEETIE ROSE by Jack Fredrickson

THE OTHER WOMAN by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Best First PI Novel:

HUSH MONEY by Chuck Greaves

Best PI Short Story:

"O'Nelligan and the Lost Fates" by Michael Nethercott, author of THE SEANCE SOCIETY

The winners will be announced at Bouchercon on September 20th. See the full shortlist here.

- JANE: The Woman Who Loved Tarzan by Robin Maxwell has been selected as a nominee for the Salt Lake County Library System's semi-annual Reader’s Choice Award. The winning title will be announced on November 1st. Until then, see their blog for more recommendations.

- I'd like to finish up by congratulating Rachel Kitzmann, Childrens Librarian II at the Los Feliz branch of the Los Angeles Public Library, who won our Rainbow Rowell signed-book sweepstakes and Fran Juergensmeyer, Collection Manager at the Waukegan Public Library, who won our Uncharted Pages sweepstakes!! See which characters Fran wants to see fall in looove in the post update!

Read more

Booklist's 2013 Best Crime Novels

It's #MysteryMonth over at Booklist and one of the things I love about that is getting to post a "year's best" list in summer—December and January get all the round-up love.

And if you're thinking, Hold up! There's a reason those round-ups are in December! Are these books from last year? This year? Next year?! Don't you fret, they've cleared that up for us: "As always, both our best crime novel lists draw from crime fiction reviewed in Booklist since the last Mystery Showcase issue"

In Top 10 Crime Fiction:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

"Roiling human passion set against the sublime serenity of the chants produces a melody of uncommon complexity and beauty."

In Best Crime Fiction Debuts:

A GOOD DEATH by Christopher R. Cox

"[Cox] channels Conrad, Kipling, and Francis Ford Coppola. An insightful, transcendent adventure."

See Booklist's full list on "The Year’s Best Crime Novels: 2013."

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (5/6/2013 Edition)

Hellooooo Monday! It's yet another brand new week and we're inching ever closer to summer skies. To kick off your week right we rounded up a few exciting viewables; take a look.

- Watch Louise Penny accept the 2013 Agatha Award for Best Novel (yet again!) this time for THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY and Catriona McPherson accept the 2013 Agatha Award for Best Historical for DANDY GILVER AND AN UNSUITABLE DAY FOR MURDER:

LP accepting

CM accepting

Louise kindly thanked her editor Hope Dellon, her publicist Sarah Melnyk, and publisher Andrew Martin. In describing her books she said,

"At the heart of the nugget they're about belonging, they're about my own personal quest for belonging, that for all of my life I've felt—for much of my life I've felt like I was on an island near the mainland [...] for me to find my community is deeply meaningful and what great company to be in."

Catriona also thanked all of the excellent people at Minotaur Books, her editor Marcia Markland, her fellow Macmillan author and winner of the Mary Higgins Clark Award Hank Fabulous Ryan, er, Hank Phillippi Ryan and everyone in the Flatiron building (that's us!).

We loved getting the chance to talk about these two incredible books and if you didn't heed our praises when they came out, now's the time!

See all of the Agatha winners at MaliceDomestic.org.

- Speaking of Mysteries, if you missed the "Thrilling Mysteries" Booklist webinar you can now access the archived webinar (the link is available on our titles list post).

- And finally, the greatest mystery of all: what exactly is this cat trying to pull? (Thanks, Ivy!)

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (2/11/2013 Edition)

Happy Monday, librarians!

Apologies for the unexpected radio silence after Wednesday of last week; I fell victim to the seasonal cold monster. I've triumphantly defeated the beast and returned only slightly sniffly to kick off the week with some great news.

- Continuing the exciting award nomination news from last week, we got the list of Macmillan books nominated for the 2012 Agatha Awards:

Nominated for the Agatha Award for Best Novel of 2012:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY
by Louise Penny

A FATAL WINTER
by G.M. Malliet

THE OTHER WOMAN
by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Nominated for the Agatha Award for Best Historical Novel of 2012:

DANDY GILVER AND AN UNSUITABLE DAY FOR A MURDER
by Catriona McPherson

Winners will be announced at the 2012 Agatha Awards banquet on May 4th, 2013, during Malice Domestic 25. See the full list of Agatha nominees here.

- A delightful review of THE MARLOW PAPERS is currently traveling all across the U.S. in American Airline's American Way magazine!

"With the screw-tightening verve of a great thriller and the romantic pull of Renaissance poetry, the novel—which purports that Marlowe is the true author of William Shakespeare’s legendary oeuvre—is a gripping, lyrical, most unlikely page-turner."

Read the super quick review here.

- Flavorwire suckered us in with another one of their bookish listicles, "The Best Fictional Libraries in Pop Culture."

- And finally, a couple of snuggly red pandas romping around in the snow!!

red pandas video

Read more

Starred Reviews for The Beautiful Mystery

As the last note of the chant escaped the Blessed Chapel a great silence fell, and with it came an even greater disquiet.

The silence stretched on. And on.

These were men used to silence, but this seemed extreme, even to them.

So begins THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY, the eighth entry in Louise Penny's award-winning and New York Times bestselling Chief Inspector Gamache series.

This mystery brings Chief Inspector Armand Gamache and Jean-Guy Beauvoir to the monastery of Saint-Gilbert-Entre-les-Loups, deep in the wilderness of Quebec. Between growing vegetables, tending chickens, making chocolate and singing, one of the monks planned and committed a violent murder.

"Traditional mystery fans can look forward to a captivating whodunit plot, a clever fair-play clue concealed in plain view, and the deft use of humor to lighten the story’s dark patches. On a deeper level, the crime provides a means for Penny’s unusually empathic, all-too-fallible lead to unearth truths about human passions and weaknesses while avoiding simple answers." -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This heart-rending tale is a marvelous addition to Penny’s acclaimed series. Fans won’t be disappointed." -Library Journal (starred review)

"There is always something mammoth roiling away beneath the surface of Penny’s novels—but this time the roiling is set against the serenity of the chanting, producing a melody of uncommon complexity and beauty." -Booklist (starred review)

Readers' Advisory librarians take note, Kirkus Reviews said, "The most illuminating analogies are not to other contemporary detective fiction but to THE NAME OF THE ROSE and MURDER IN THE CATHEDRAL."

Read more

The Ultimate #BookBattle2 Webinar Title List

Today at 2pm Talia and Chris (Sterling) are going head-to-head in a reprise of their Oscar-nominated book buzz performance from ALA Annual and you don't want to miss it this time around. Sign up now!

UPDATE: This event is now over. The archived Booklist webinar will be available here soon!

Here's a sneak peek at the books that Talia will be talking about this afternoon (and see her full slide deck here!). WARNING: Major spoilers below!

talia and chris

50 SHADES OF GREY Read-Alikes:

WILD CARD by Lora Leigh

BLUSH by Opal Carew

PANIC SNAP by Laura Reese

TOPPING FROM BELOW by Laura Reese

Adult Titles:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

A KILLING IN THE HILLS by Julia Keller

ROGUE by Mark Sullivan

YOUNG PHILBY by Robert Littell

CHINESE WHISKERS by Pallavi Aiyar

PAW PRINTS IN THE MOONLIGHT by Denis O'Connor

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

THE FORGETTING TREE by Tatjana Soli

THE ELEMENTALS by Francesca Lia Block

GRACE GROWS by Shelle Sumners

HOW I CAME TO SPARKLE AGAIN by Kaya McLaren

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff

THIS BOOK IS FULL OF SPIDERS by David Wong

SHAKESPEARE'S TREMOR AND ORWELL'S COUGH by John J. Ross, M.D.

WE KILLED by Yael Kohen

Teen Titles:

WAKE and LULLABY by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

MIDNIGHT CITY by J. Barton Mitchell

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

And, of course...

PIPPI MOVES IN! by Astrid Lindgren

Read more