Articles tagged "Robin Sloan"

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2014 nominees

We're pleased to announce that Macmillan has 17 books longlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, which honors works of fiction with high literary merit. Nominees include:

BRING UP THE BODIES by Hilary Mantel

THE DREAM OF THE CELT by Mario Vargas Llosa

THE FORRESTS by Emily Perkins

HHhH by Laurent Binet

THE HOUSE I LOVED by Tatiana de Rosnay

THE HUNGER ANGEL by Herta Müller

IGNORANCE by Michèle Roberts

JACK HOLMES AND HIS FRIEND by Edmund White

A LADY CYCLIST’S GUIDE TO KASHGAR by Suzanne Joinson

THE LIGHT OF AMSTERDAM by David Park

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

MR. PENUMBRA’S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

MY STRUGGLE: Book 1 by Karl Ove Knausgaard

PAINTER OF SILENCE by Georgina Harding

A POSSIBLE LIFE by Sebastian Faulks

THE TELEPORTATION ACCIDENT by Ned Beauman

TRAVELER OF THE CENTURY by Andrés Neuman

View the full list of nominees here.

The shortlist will be announced on April 9, 2014 and the Lord Mayor of Dublin will announce the winner on June, 12 2014. Congratulations!
Read more

Monday Fun Day with MR. PENUMBRA'S Unofficial Fan Club

Good afternoon, friends! Today we have a special treat for you. We were so pumped when we saw Preservation Librarian Craig Fansler tweet a photo of the MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE exhibit at the Z. Smith Reynolds Library that we had to do more than just re-tweet it. We immediately wrote to Craig (the clear leader of the "Unofficial Robin Sloan Fan Club" at ZSR Library) and asked him our most burning questions about how this awesome display came to be:

Mr. Penumbra display

Read more

TxLA's 2013 Lariat Short List

The Texas Library Association has announced the titles on their short list for the 2013 Lariat Adult Fiction Reading List!

Five of the titles on their list of 78 candidates are very proudly published by Macmillan:

GONE MISSING
by Linda Castillo

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE
by Robin Sloan

REDSHIRTS
by John Scalzi

THE SURVIVOR
by Gregg Hurwitz

HALF-BLOOD BLUES
by Esi Edugyan

See the full list of titles here (PDF).

Selections for the final list will be revealed this April at the Texas Library Association Annual Conference in Fort Worth.

Read more

The Ultimate #BookBattle2 Webinar Title List

Today at 2pm Talia and Chris (Sterling) are going head-to-head in a reprise of their Oscar-nominated book buzz performance from ALA Annual and you don't want to miss it this time around. Sign up now!

UPDATE: This event is now over. The archived Booklist webinar will be available here soon!

Here's a sneak peek at the books that Talia will be talking about this afternoon (and see her full slide deck here!). WARNING: Major spoilers below!

talia and chris

50 SHADES OF GREY Read-Alikes:

WILD CARD by Lora Leigh

BLUSH by Opal Carew

PANIC SNAP by Laura Reese

TOPPING FROM BELOW by Laura Reese

Adult Titles:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

A KILLING IN THE HILLS by Julia Keller

ROGUE by Mark Sullivan

YOUNG PHILBY by Robert Littell

CHINESE WHISKERS by Pallavi Aiyar

PAW PRINTS IN THE MOONLIGHT by Denis O'Connor

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

THE FORGETTING TREE by Tatjana Soli

THE ELEMENTALS by Francesca Lia Block

GRACE GROWS by Shelle Sumners

HOW I CAME TO SPARKLE AGAIN by Kaya McLaren

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff

THIS BOOK IS FULL OF SPIDERS by David Wong

SHAKESPEARE'S TREMOR AND ORWELL'S COUGH by John J. Ross, M.D.

WE KILLED by Yael Kohen

Teen Titles:

WAKE and LULLABY by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

MIDNIGHT CITY by J. Barton Mitchell

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

And, of course...

PIPPI MOVES IN! by Astrid Lindgren

Read more

Win a Signed ARC of Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore!

**THIS CONTEST IS NOW CLOSED**
Winner: Chaunacey Dunklee, Fullerton Public Library!

Happy Wednesday, library friends! We're officially back in action after ALA Annual today, if somewhat red-eyed and yawn-prone. We haven't been crying! And you're not boring! We're just still living in the past (a.k.a. Pacific Time).

After getting galley request after galley request at BEA, ALA Annual, and in my inbox, I think it's time to give a loving shout-out to one of our most anticipated debuts of the Fall: MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan! We're ecstatic that so many of you want to get your hands on this literary adventure!

If you haven't heard about this one yet, think William Gibson conspiring with Haruki Murakami at midnight in the darkest aisle of a 24 hour bookstore in San Francisco. It's also part DA VINCI CODE and part You’ve Got Mail, but remains totally original. You get me? No?! Well, I guess it's just one of those books that you have to read for yourself!

And if the book weren't great enough, Robin is an absolute charmer! Warning Librarians: Author-Crush Zone dead ahead... At BEA Robin created a secret society of booksellers (I know!) and this summer Robin is hosting a Summer Reading series on his blog to share the backlist books he wants to talk about with you. We love it. Boing Boing loves it. You'll probably think it's pretty cool, too.

robin summer

SIGNED GALLEY CONTEST

Robin was kind enough to sign an advanced reader's copy for us to give away to one lucky librarian! Leave a comment below with your full name and the library you work for by Monday, July 2nd to be entered into the random drawing.

Best of luck!

This sweepstakes is open to librarians in the United States. More eligibility details below.

Read more