Articles tagged "Midnight City"

Books for Teens 2014: WE [heart] YA Griffin Teen!

Books for Teens 2014 posterCue the confetti cannons and cheerleaders: it's time for our annual list of Young Adult books from St. Martin’s Griffin!


Before the celebrations begin, make sure that you’re whitelisted on Edelweiss to download all of our available e-galleys. Click here to find out how to be whitelisted.

If you're already whitelisted, you can find all available Macmillan e-galleys here (please note: you must be logged in and set your search preference to "View titles I may Download or Request." Otherwise, the page will say "No titles met this criteria").

You can also view our Edelweiss collection of Books for Teens titles here.

Read on for the books!

FangirlFANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell

A coming-of-age tale of family, first love, and fan fiction from the talented author of ELEANOR & PARK.

"Absolutely captivating." Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"A funny and tender coming-of-age story that’s also the story of a writer finding her voice. [...] Touching and utterly real." Publishers Weekly, starred review

"This book will find a wide audience, especially among older fans of Harry Potter." School Library Journal, starred review

"This is an epic writ small; the magic here is cast not with wands but with Rowell's incredible ability to build complex, vivid, troubling, and triumphant relationships."Booklist, starred review

#1 LibraryReads September 2013 Selection
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2013
Goodreads Best Books of 2013
School Library Journal Best Books of 2013
2014 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection


TrapTHE TRAP by Andrew Fukuda (The Hunt #3)

In the explosive finale to The Hunt trilogy, Gene and Sissy must protect each other and their only hope: the cure that will turn the blood-thirsty creatures around them into humans again.

"The Hunt trilogy has lived up to the promise of the first book and delivered shocks and drama with every turn of the page." — Booklist

THE PREY by Andrew Fukuda (The Hunt #2) is now available in Trade Paperback


Social CodeTHE SOCIAL CODE by Sadie Hayes (The Start-Up #1)

The drama of Gossip Girl comes to Silicon Valley when eighteen-year-old twins Adam and Amelia Dory launch their new company and find fame and fortune seemingly overnight. But no amount of prestige can prepare them for the envy, backstabbing and cool calculation of their new powerful peers.

"Readers will be both engrossed with and appalled by the shifty universe and deliciously soapy momentum created in this thrilling series opener." — Booklist


Next Big ThingTHE NEXT BIG THING by Sadie Hayes (The Start-Up #2)

In the second installment in the Start Up series, Amelia and Adam are riding high on the successful launch of their new company–until they start to disagree about how to sustain the momentum to keep making it in the competitive world of Silicon Valley.

Read more

Teen Title Tuesday!

Just in time for today's Early Word YA Galley Chat (join us today at 5:00pm EST, hashtag #ewyagc), here are our favorite YA titles out this month:

HORIZON by Alyson Noël
In the final book in the "atmospheric and enjoyable" (Publishers Weekly) Soul Seekers series, Daire and Dace face one final fight that will seal their fate forever.
Also available in the series: FATED (Book 1), ECHO (Book 2) and MYSTIC (Book 3)

THE TRAP by Andrew Fukuda
In the explosive finale to The Hunt trilogy, Gene and Sissy must protect each other and their only hope: the cure that will turn the blood-thirsty creatures around them into humans again.
Also available in the series: THE HUNT (Book 1) and THE PREY (Book 2)

THE SEVERED TOWER by J. Barton Mitchell
In the second book in the Conquered Earth series, Holt, Mira, and Max have fled Midnight City, accompanying Zoey on her quest to reach the Severed Tower. Their journey is made more dangerous as the group is being pursued by Assembly army, a group of pirates, and Mira's old flame.
Also available in the series: MIDNIGHT CITY

THE IN-BETWEEN by Barbara Stewart
When Elanor’s near-death experience opens a door to a world inhabited by bold, beautiful Madeline, she finds her life quickly spiraling out of control. "This may be Stewart’s first novel, but she exhibits a practiced skill, keeping events ambiguous enough to have readers guessing throughout... A most intriguing book and debut." – Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE NEXT BIG THING by Sadie Hayes
In the second installment in the Social Code series, twin college students Amelia and Adam are riding high on the successful launch of their new company–until they start to disagree about how to sustain the momentum to keep making it in the competitive world of Silicon Valley.
Also available in the series: THE SOCIAL CODE

Read more

The Ultimate #BookBattle2 Webinar Title List

Today at 2pm Talia and Chris (Sterling) are going head-to-head in a reprise of their Oscar-nominated book buzz performance from ALA Annual and you don't want to miss it this time around. Sign up now!

UPDATE: This event is now over. The archived Booklist webinar will be available here soon!

Here's a sneak peek at the books that Talia will be talking about this afternoon (and see her full slide deck here!). WARNING: Major spoilers below!

talia and chris

50 SHADES OF GREY Read-Alikes:

WILD CARD by Lora Leigh

BLUSH by Opal Carew

PANIC SNAP by Laura Reese

TOPPING FROM BELOW by Laura Reese

Adult Titles:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

A KILLING IN THE HILLS by Julia Keller

ROGUE by Mark Sullivan

YOUNG PHILBY by Robert Littell

CHINESE WHISKERS by Pallavi Aiyar

PAW PRINTS IN THE MOONLIGHT by Denis O'Connor

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

THE FORGETTING TREE by Tatjana Soli

THE ELEMENTALS by Francesca Lia Block

GRACE GROWS by Shelle Sumners

HOW I CAME TO SPARKLE AGAIN by Kaya McLaren

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff

THIS BOOK IS FULL OF SPIDERS by David Wong

SHAKESPEARE'S TREMOR AND ORWELL'S COUGH by John J. Ross, M.D.

WE KILLED by Yael Kohen

Teen Titles:

WAKE and LULLABY by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

MIDNIGHT CITY by J. Barton Mitchell

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

And, of course...

PIPPI MOVES IN! by Astrid Lindgren

Read more