Articles tagged "Mark Sullivan"

Thriller Thursday (10/24/13 Edition)

Our #ThrillerThursday picks are a bit cozier this week (it's getting cold out!), but enjoyable all the same:

ACCUSED by Lisa Scottoline
The ladies from the Rosato & Associates law firm are back! Mary DiNunzio is now a partner(!) and engaged(!!) and has an unexpected new client: thirteen-year-old Allegra Gardner, who believes the man accused of her sister's murder is innocent. "This is a long-awaited, solid entry into a terrific series that should appeal to fans of Sheldon Siegel, Rose Connors, and Steve Martini." — Booklist

Darth Cat

OUTLAW by Mark Sullivan
This high-stakes thriller continues the adventures of former CIA operative and master thief Robin Monarch (after ROGUE), who must rescue the U.S. Secretary of State and foreign ministers from China and India, who have been kidnapped. "Sullivan has created a fine adventure-thriller hero in Monarch, who fits perfectly into the Ludlum or Vince Flynn mode. The action and the surprises are nonstop. Readers will demand the next one in the series, pronto." — Booklist

NEVER LAUGH AS A HEARSE GOES BY by Elizabeth Duncan
Who can resist a mystery involving libraries?!! Duncan's fifth book in the Penny Brannigan series "is a pleasing update of the 'body in the library' standard. In the time-honored tradition of village cozies, Duncan provides structure, subtle clues, rampant gossip, and a satisfying conclusion." — Library Journal, starred review

DUCK THE HALLS by Donna Andrews
In Meg Langslow's 16th mystery, she's tasked with finding an alternate venue for her church's holiday events while simultaneously finding a killer after a series of escalating pranks leaves another church member dead. "Andrews leavens the action with her trademark humor, including dueling Christmas dinners and an extravagant—and extravagantly funny—live nativity scene." —Publishers Weekly

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib.
Read more

The Wisdom of James Patterson

Mark Sullivan, the internationally bestselling author and bestselling co-author with James Patterson, tells all!

...Or at least he tells us a lot of really great stuff, like what he learned about commerical fiction while working with Powerhouse Patterson.

Sullivan told Publishers Weekly,

"I thought I knew what I was doing when it came to commercial fiction. Working with Patterson, however, I discovered quickly that I didn’t. [...] What I’ve learned from the global bestselling author could fill a book, but here are some of the lessons that have changed my writing life."

Read about those lessons at PublishersWeekly.com!

Read more

The Ultimate #BookBattle2 Webinar Title List

Today at 2pm Talia and Chris (Sterling) are going head-to-head in a reprise of their Oscar-nominated book buzz performance from ALA Annual and you don't want to miss it this time around. Sign up now!

UPDATE: This event is now over. The archived Booklist webinar will be available here soon!

Here's a sneak peek at the books that Talia will be talking about this afternoon (and see her full slide deck here!). WARNING: Major spoilers below!

talia and chris

50 SHADES OF GREY Read-Alikes:

WILD CARD by Lora Leigh

BLUSH by Opal Carew

PANIC SNAP by Laura Reese

TOPPING FROM BELOW by Laura Reese

Adult Titles:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

A KILLING IN THE HILLS by Julia Keller

ROGUE by Mark Sullivan

YOUNG PHILBY by Robert Littell

CHINESE WHISKERS by Pallavi Aiyar

PAW PRINTS IN THE MOONLIGHT by Denis O'Connor

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

THE FORGETTING TREE by Tatjana Soli

THE ELEMENTALS by Francesca Lia Block

GRACE GROWS by Shelle Sumners

HOW I CAME TO SPARKLE AGAIN by Kaya McLaren

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff

THIS BOOK IS FULL OF SPIDERS by David Wong

SHAKESPEARE'S TREMOR AND ORWELL'S COUGH by John J. Ross, M.D.

WE KILLED by Yael Kohen

Teen Titles:

WAKE and LULLABY by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

MIDNIGHT CITY by J. Barton Mitchell

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

And, of course...

PIPPI MOVES IN! by Astrid Lindgren

Read more