Articles tagged "Kelli Stanley"

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2012 (booth 2544)

exhibiting logoWe're getting geared up for ALA Annual in Anaheim and it's about time we shared all of our exciting plans with you!

See our full schedule below:

FRIDAY, JUNE 22nd

5:30 PM
Macmillan booth 2544

Mignon Fogarty (a.k.a. Grammar Girl) will be signing copies of her Quick & Dirty Tips books and Deb Coonts will be signing copies of SO DAMN LUCKY in our booth.

SATURDAY, JUNE 23RD

10:30-12 PM
Convention Center Rm 202A

Gail Tsukiyama, author of A HUNDRED FLOWERS, and Jeri Westerson, author of TROUBLED BONES, will be speaking on ALTAFF’s "Historical Fiction" panel.

11:00 AM
Macmillan booth 2544

Kelli Stanley will be signing copies of CITY OF SECRETS in our booth.

1:30 PM
Exhibit Hall, Aisle 2200

Gail Tsukiyama, author of A HUNDRED FLOWERS, will be speaking at ALA’s LIVE! @ your library Reading Stage.

1:30-3:30 pm
Convention Center Rm 209A

Deb Coonts, author of SO DAMN LUCKY, will be speaking on ALTAFF’s “Isn’t It Romantic?” panel.

ALL DAY
Pop Top Stage

A number of excellent Macmillan authors will be speaking on the Popular Topics Stage for Mystery Day! Read all about the Macmillan authors here! And see the full Pop Top Stage schedule here.

ALL DAY
Unshelved Day @ ALA!

Our buddies over at Unshelved are celebrating TEN YEARS (say whaaaat?!) of comic strip goodness and they're encouraging you to show off your Unshelved pride on Saturday at ALA. Details on their blog!

SUNDAY, JUNE 24th

9:00-10:00 am
Convention Center Rm 210A/B

Ladies and gentlemen, this is the event you've all been waiting for... #BOOKBATTLE2: The Sequel! In one corner we have Talia "The Tiger" Sherer. In the other corner we have Chris "The Cutie" Vaccari. These two champs will duke it out to claim the title of Best Book Buzzer Ever! They'll be buzzing about books for both adults and teens! There will be galleys! There will be prizes! There will be A BATTLE TO THE DEATH!!

book battle 2

9:00-10:00 am
Hyatt, Royal Ballroom

YA Author Coffee Klatch with Alex Award-winner Rachel DeWoskin.

Enjoy coffee and meet with a number of great YA authors! Librarians will sit at a table and every 3 or 4 minutes, a new author will arrive at your table to chat.

10:30-12:00 pm
Convention Center Rm 204A

The Alex Award is given to the top 10 books that appeal to young adults, and is administered by YALSA and sponsored by the Margaret Alexander Edwards Trust. The 2012 Alex Award winning authors including Rachel DeWoskin, author of BIG GIRL SMALL, will speak about their books and the award on this panel.

10:30-12:00 pm
Convention Center Rm 204C

The Great Non-Fiction Read-Alike: If You Like This, You’ll LOVE That! with Trivia!

As the popularity of non-fiction reading for pleasure continues to grow, librarians have a great opportunity to grow their reader’s advisory skills. All-star panelists Alene Moroni (Manager, Selection & Order, King County), Anna Mickelsen (Reference Librarian, Springfield City), Kaite Stover (Manager, Readers’ Services, Kansas City), Robin Nesbitt (Technical Services Director, Columbus Metropolitan), and Stephanie Chase (Head, Reference, Adult Services, & Programming, Multnomah County) will cover major trends in popular non-fiction and recommend upcoming titles with pre-publication buzz as well as titles from your backlist will satisfy your patrons while the best-selling titles are on hold.

2:30 PM
Macmillan booth 2544

Joel Engel will be signing copies of L.A. '56 in our booth.

4:00 PM
Macmillan booth 2544

Francesca Lia Block will be signing copies of THE ELEMENTALS in our booth.

MONDAY, JUNE 25th

10:00 AM
Macmillan booth 2544

Eleanor Kuhns will be signing copies of A SIMPLE MURDER in our booth.

2:00 PM-4:00 PM
Anaheim Marriott, Grand Salon E

Jane Green, author of ANOTHER PIECE OF MY HEART, will be speaking at the ALTAFF "Gala Author Tea." Tickets required.

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (4/2/2012 Edition)

Haaaaappy Monday, lovely librarians!

- If you're going to be in Houston for TxLA in a few weeks, be sure to stop by booth #1704 to say hi! We'll have stacks of great galleys for you. See our full TxLA 2012 schedule here.

- Congrats to Kelli Stanley who just won the Golden Nugget Award for the best mystery set in California with CITY OF SECRETS!

- Also, congrats to our two RITA Award finalists Darynda Jones and Christina Brooke! Read about their super sexy books here.

- If you're one of the many that can't wait to dive in to Chelsea Cain's latest thriller, KILL YOU TWICE, head over to CriminalElement.com for a nice long excerpt.

pup in box

Read more

ALA Annual's Mystery Day @ the Pop Top Stage!

We're in full-on PLA mode here at Macmillan Castle, but we're pumping the breaks for a minute to bring you news of this year's fantastic line up for Mystery Day at the Pop Top Stage at ALA Annual!

pop top

Here's an early glance at the schedule:

Mystery Day: Saturday, June 23rd

11:00am - 12:00pm

Laugh, or I'll Kill You: A conversation between Chuck Greaves* and Deb Coonts

12:15pm - 1:30pm

Mystery Chicks and Private Dicks: A conversation between Jeri Westerson and Kelli Stanley

2:00pm - 3:00pm

Location, Location, Location: How a Mystery's Setting Impacts the Story - featuring Brian Freeman, Caroline Todd, Charlie Newton, Chuck Greaves, Kelli Stanley, and Mike Lawson

Moderated by: Kelli Stanley

3:15pm - 4:00pm

Attention to Detail: How Research Adds to the Mystery OR How to do Research and Avoid Arrest OR What is #ResearchFail? Featuring Brian Freeman, Caroline Todd, Charlie Newton, and Mike Lawson

Moderated by: Jason Pinter

See the full Mystery Day schedule here. And make sure you add these events to your calendar for ALA Annual!

*Check Greaves wrote a great blog post about his love for librarians. Check it out here.

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (9/19/2011 Edition)

Welcome to a new week, book lovers!

We have more exciting award news for you straight out of St. Louie. Last week we talked about our enthusiasm with the Barry Award winners and now we have even more to celebrate because both the Macavity Awards and the Anthony Awards were announced!

The 2011 Macmillan Macavity Award winners:
Best Novel: BURY YOUR DEAD by Louise Penny
Best First Novel: ROGUE ISLAND by Bruce DeSilva
Sue Feder Historical Mystery: CITY OF DRAGONS by Kelli Stanley

The 2011 Macmillan Anthony Awards winners (the Best Novel may sound familiar):
Best Novel: BURY YOUR DEAD by Louise Penny
Best First Novel: THE DAMAGE DONE by Hilary Davidson
Best Paperback Original: EXPIRATION DATE by Duane Swierczynski

You can see the full list of 2011 Macavity Award winners and 2011 Anthony Award winners at Lesa's Book Critiques.

Banned Books Week BannerBanned Books Week is just around the corner which means it's time to pull your favorite banned book off the shelf and remember what exactly makes that book important and unbannable to you. We also highly recommend you get involved with ALA's Virtual Read-Out on YouTube.

The Virtual Read-Out information page offers suggestions for the types of videos you can upload to their stream:

1) You can submit a video no more than two minutes long of a reading from a banned or challenged book.

2) A video of an eyewitness account of local challenges can be submitted. This video should be no longer than three minutes long.

Finally, we have to feature a few of these brilliant miniature paper sculptures that are mysteriously appearing in libraries across Edinburgh. Enjoy!

Paper Sculpture

Read more

2011 Shamus Award Nominees Announced

Minotaur and Forge dropped some hot titles on the Shamus Award nominee list this year:

Best Hardcover P.I. Novel:
VOYEUR by Daniel Judson
NAKED MOON by Domenic Stansberry

Best First P.I. Novel:
IN SEARCH OF MERCY by Michael Ayoob
ONE MAN'S PARADISE by Douglas Corleone
ROGUE ISLAND by Bruce DeSilva
CITY OF DRAGONS by Kelli Stanley

Winners will be selected by the Private Eye Writers of America (PWA). To see the full list of 2011 Shamus Award nominees head over to CriminalElement.com.

Read more

The Macavity Award Nominees & Practical Cats

Most awards are named after boring ol' humans. I know, snoozefest, right?

Well, I'm delighted to tell you that The Macavity Award brings something new to the table. This award is named after a cat, the "mystery cat" of T.S. Eliot's Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats to be exact.

Naming an award after a cat is understandable; naming an award after a mysterious, yet practical cat is really the only way to go.

The Macmillan Macavity Award-nominated titles for 2011 are as follows:

Best Mystery Novel
BURY YOUR DEAD by Louise Penny*

Best First Mystery Novel
THE DAMAGE DONE by Hilary Davidson
ROGUE ISLAND by Bruce DeSilva
THE POACHER'S SON by Paul Doiron

Sue Feder Memorial Historical Mystery
CITY OF DRAGONS by Kelli Stanley**

To see the full list of nominated titles click here.

Read more

Happy March Minotaur Mystery Madness Day! GIVEAWAY

It's Tuesday and I'm feeling sassy, so I'm dubbing today March Minotaur Mystery Madness Day!

I pulled together two delicious mystery snack packs* for you to get your hands on. Click either box to email library at macmillanusa dot com and add your preference for "Combo A" or "Combo B" in the Subject Line (yes, yes, you can enter to win both!). Get those entries in before Thursday.

UPDATE: Contest now closed. Thanks to those who entered. Winners have been notified!

THE LOCK ARTIST, by Steve Hamilton: This Alex Award winning thriller is, as The New York Times Book Review said, "too good for words."
BAD BIRD, by Chris Knopf: Knopf kicks off his second Hamptons mystery with an explosive beginning, then pulls us back to the past of roguish lawyer Jackie Swaitkowski, and throws in a few twists before the end. Hold on tight!
THE KENKEN KILLINGS, by Parnell Hall: There are actually KenKen and crosswords in the pages of this book so you can solve this fun and quick witted puzzle mystery!

36 YALTA BOULEVARD, by Olen Steinhauer: Steinhauer earned this subtle and intelligent political thriller starred reviews from both Booklist and Library Journal.
PAST TENSE, by Catherine Aird: This elegant and mischievious whodunit earned a starred review from Publishers Weekly.
THE CURSE-MAKER, by Kelli Stanley: Booklist calls this one "an engrossing mystery, in which the first murder leads to a typically Roman orgy of revenge," with "fascinating and never heavy-handed information on Roman life," (yep, a starred review for this one, as well).

Read more