Articles tagged "Julia Keller"

Happy #BookBday

Tuesday might not seem like a day worth celebrating, but an author will tell you otherwise. Once a year (or every other year, or a decade, or a month if you're James Patterson), there's one Tuesday that's more exciting than any other:

The book birthday!

Today we wish a happy #BookBday to:

NECESSARY LIES by Diane Chamberlain
Bestselling author Chamberlain delivers a breakout book, mining the appalling, little-known history of North Carolina’s Eugenics Sterilization Program, in effect from 1929 to 1975. Called "Absorbing and haunting" (Booklist), and "Socially conscious melodrama at its best” (Kirkus Reviews), NECESSARY LIES is great for "Book groups and fans of Jodi Picoult....” (Library Journal, starred review) and a SIBA Fall 2013 Okra Pick.
This debut novel from Finch creates a beguiling, disturbing world about a mysterious man who enters an internationally renowned refuge for writers in exile. In a starred review, Kirkus called it "Satiric, tough and very funny" and Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story says, “Once I got into The House of Journalists I couldn’t leave! In fact, I think I’m still there. Someone please call the fire department. This prose is flammable!”

BITTER RIVER by Julia Keller
Pulitzer Prize-winning author Julia Keller counts Michael Connelly, Dennis Lehane, Scott Turow, Karin Slaughter, Laura Lippman, and C.J. Box among her fans (talk about great company!). BITTER RIVER is a September Indie Next selection and Michael Connelly said, “BITTER RIVER has an elegiac force to it that is powerful and gripping. I just turned the last page on this one and I want more.”
Kitty Birthday
Read more

Sneak Peek: The September Indie Next List

indie next logoI know, I know—it's only July, but we just got word that a few of our super fine fall titles are going to be featured on the September Indie Next List and we had to share the good news!

The following books have been selected as "Great Reads from Booksellers You Trust."

LOOKAWAY, LOOKAWAY by Wilton Barnhardt

HOW THE LIGHT GETS IN by Louise Penny

BITTER RIVER by Julia Keller

THE AFFAIRS OF OTHERS by Amy Grace Loyd

THE BONE SEASON by Samantha Shannon

You'll also see A HUNDRED FLOWERS by Gail Tsukiyama in the "NOW IN PAPERBACK: Indie Next List Selections Come to Paperback" section.

Read more

People Loves Minotaur Mysteries!

No, that title does not contain a grammatical error; I'm talking about People Magazine, people!

People selected a few books for their "Summer Thrills & Chills" feature and two thrilling/chilling Minotaur titles made the list: Julia Keller's debut, A KILLING IN THE HILLS, and Chelsea Cain’s latest, KILL YOU TWICE!

people

On A KILLING IN THE HILLS they said, "A twisty plot—and a soulful depiction of a beautiful, besieged ‘afterthought of a town’—propels this debut mystery about a prosecutor fighting drug traffickers in Appalachia."

On KILL YOU TWICE they said, "Just when Portland, Ore., detective Archie Sheridan was reveling in serial killer Gretchen Lowell’s confinement to the psych ward, she contacts him with leads about a grisly new murder. Shades of SILENCE OF THE LAMBS."

Read more

FOUR STARS for A Killing in the Hills!

We already mentioned that Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Julia Keller's debut novel, A KILLING IN THE HILLS, is getting killer reviews. Now we get to say that it has officially received (read: rightfully earned) FOUR pre-pub starred reviews!

Take a look:

"Keller does a superb job of showing both the natural beauty of Appalachia and the hopeless anger of the people trapped there in poverty. [...] The ensemble cast is unforgettable. So is this novel." -Publishers Weekly (starred review, Pick of the Week)

julia keller"A page-turner with substance and depth, this is as suspenseful and entertaining as it is accomplished." -Booklist (starred review)

"[A] superbly detailed and suspense-drenched mystery. Share with Linda Fairstein, Meg Gardiner, and Lisa Gardner fans." -Library Journal (starred review, Debut of the Month)

"[A] mystery that has plenty of twists and turns and a shocking conclusion." -Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

A KILLING IN THE HILLS will be available in August from Minotaur Books.

Read more

The Ultimate #BookBattle2 Webinar Title List

Today at 2pm Talia and Chris (Sterling) are going head-to-head in a reprise of their Oscar-nominated book buzz performance from ALA Annual and you don't want to miss it this time around. Sign up now!

UPDATE: This event is now over. The archived Booklist webinar will be available here soon!

Here's a sneak peek at the books that Talia will be talking about this afternoon (and see her full slide deck here!). WARNING: Major spoilers below!

talia and chris

50 SHADES OF GREY Read-Alikes:

WILD CARD by Lora Leigh

BLUSH by Opal Carew

PANIC SNAP by Laura Reese

TOPPING FROM BELOW by Laura Reese

Adult Titles:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

A KILLING IN THE HILLS by Julia Keller

ROGUE by Mark Sullivan

YOUNG PHILBY by Robert Littell

CHINESE WHISKERS by Pallavi Aiyar

PAW PRINTS IN THE MOONLIGHT by Denis O'Connor

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

THE FORGETTING TREE by Tatjana Soli

THE ELEMENTALS by Francesca Lia Block

GRACE GROWS by Shelle Sumners

HOW I CAME TO SPARKLE AGAIN by Kaya McLaren

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff

THIS BOOK IS FULL OF SPIDERS by David Wong

SHAKESPEARE'S TREMOR AND ORWELL'S COUGH by John J. Ross, M.D.

WE KILLED by Yael Kohen

Teen Titles:

WAKE and LULLABY by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

MIDNIGHT CITY by J. Barton Mitchell

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

And, of course...

PIPPI MOVES IN! by Astrid Lindgren

Read more

Starred Reviews for A Killing in the Hills

A KILLING IN THE HILLS is Julia Keller's debut novel, but she's far from new to writing. As a journalist with the Chicago Tribune, Killer won the Pulitzer Prize. Now that she's turned her skilled pen to fiction the starred reviews are stacking up!

In Acker's Gap, West Virginia three elderly men are gunned down over their coffee at a local diner. No one knows if it was random or if it was connected to the spate of drug violence plaguing poor areas of the country just like Acker's Gap. One of the witnesses to the brutal incident is Carla Elkins, 17-year-old daughter of Bell Elkins, the prosecuting attorney for Raythune County, WV. Carla is in shock over the events, but soon recovers enough to believe that she might be uniquely placed to help her mother do her job. After all, what better way to repair their fragile, damaged relationship? That is, unless Carla sacrifices her life to solve the crime.

"Chicago Tribune Pulitzer-winning journalist Keller has fashioned a debut mystery with an impeccably paced plot, supple prose, and indelibly drawn characters [...]. A page-turner with substance and depth, this is as suspenseful and entertaining as it is accomplished." -Booklist (starred review)

"Keller does a superb job showing both the natural beauty of Appalachia and the hopeless anger of the people trapped there in poverty. Some characters turn out to be better than they appear, some much worse, but the ensemble cast is unforgettable. So is this novel." -Publishers Weekly (starred review, Pick of the Week!)

Read more