Articles tagged "Jeffrey Archer"

Happy #BookBday (3/4/14 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday! Today we're celebrating:

SHOTGUN LOVESONGS by Nickolas Butler
Butler's debut novel about the relationship between four friends in a small Midwest town is the #1 March Indie Next pick, and is receiving rave reviews from Kirkus, Booklist, Shelf Awareness, and more. Don't miss the chance to meet him at PLA next week!

NOTES FROM THE INTERNET APOCALYPSE by Wayne Gladstone
Perfect for fans of David Wong, Chad Kultgen, and Chuck Palahniuk, Cracked.com columnist Wayne Gladstone’s novel about what happens when the world suddenly loses all Internet access is a hilarious look at life unplugged. “...the punchlines are pitch-perfect. Anyone who spends time sharing jokes in web communities will find this satire irresistible.” — Booklist

BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR by Jeffrey Archer
The fourth volume in Jeffrey Archer's New York Times bestselling Clifton Chronicles series opens with Harry Clifton and his wife Emma rushing to learn the fate of their son Sebastian, who has been in a fatal car accident. But who died, Sebastian or his best friend? “Archer’s...tight plotting make for a page-turning rich man’s soap opera. Lightweight, entertaining beach reading.” — Kirkus Reviews

WORDS OF RADIANCE by Brandon Sanderson
“Sanderson’s skill at world building is unmatched, and in the 'Stormlight Archive' series he has developed an innovative magical system and combined it with rich, complex characters to create a compelling story. His eagerly awaited sequel to THE WAY OF KINGS exceeds expectations. This developing epic series is a must-read for all fantasy fans.” – Library Journal, starred review

Read more

Top eBook Lends for Libraries

Happy Monday everyone! As Talia mentioned on Friday, the ELEANOR & PARK eBook is now available for lending! HUZZAH!

Here are some other newly available eBooks your patrons might be interested in:

BAD BLOOD by Dana Stabenow
ILLICIT by Opal Carew
THE FOURTH ESTATE by Jeffrey Archer
EVE OF CHAOS by Sylvia Day
THE POWER TRIP by Jackie Collins
CALLING ME HOME by Julie Kibler
THE FUN PARTS by Sam Lipsyte
THE SUNSHINE WHEN SHE'S GONE by Thea Goodman
DEATH, DOOM, AND DETENTION by Darynda Jones
IF YOU FIND ME by Emily Murdoch
Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler
THE SHELL SEEKERS by Rosamunde Pilcher


Want to know what patrons have been checking out? Here are the top Macmillan e-lending titles* to date:

ENDER'S GAME by Orson Scott Card
MINE TILL MIDNIGHT by Lisa Kleypas
KILLING KENNEDY by Bill O'Reilly
KILLING LINCOLN by Bill O'Reilly
RAINSHADOW ROAD by Lisa Kleypas
THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny
THE BEEKEEPER'S APPRENTICE by Laurie R. King |
CHRISTMAS EVE AT FRIDAY HARBOR by Lisa Kleypas
TELL ME LIES by Jennifer Crusie
COME HOME by Lisa Scottoline
A WALLFLOWER CHRISTMAS by Lisa Kleypas
MARRIED BY MORNING by Lisa Kleypas
"A" IS FOR ALIBI by Sue Grafton
SWORN TO SILENCE by Linda Castillo
TEMPT ME AT TWILIGHT by Lisa Kleypas
SPEAKER FOR THE DEAD by Orson Scott Card
THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK by Matthew Quick
LOVE IN A NUTSHELL by Janet Evanovich & Dorien Kelly
LOVE IN THE AFTERNOON by Lisa Kleypas
SEDUCE ME AT SUNRISE by Lisa Kleypas
WHERE WE BELONG by Emily Giffin
A TRICK OF THE LIGHT by Louise Penny
BLUE HEAVEN by C.J. Box
WICKED APPETITE by Janet Evanovich

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (6/18/2012 Edition)

It's a Monday morning Macmillan party and you're invited, my friend!

- Can you believe it? ALA Annual is almost here! Add our events to your schedule now: The Great Non-Fiction Read-Alike! Book Battle II: The Sequel! Author signings! Glitter stars! Tea!

- The Locus Award winners were announced this weekend and we're delighted to see that Ellen Datlow was awarded Best Editor and Tor was awarded Best Publisher—woohoo! See all of the 2012 Locus Award winners here.

- The LA Times published their extensive 2012 Summer Reading Guide including some excellent picks from Macmillan including:

Beach Reads:

A Lady Cyclist's Guide to Kashgar by Suzanne Joinson
Monarch Beach by Anita Hughes
The Nightmare by Lars Kepler
The Sins of the Father by Jeffrey Archer

History and Biography Reads:

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel
Our Divided Political Heart by E.J. Dionne Jr.
A Good Man by Mark K. Shriver
James Joyce by Gordon Bowker

Young Adult & Children:

This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

Lifestyle:

Bring It! by Tony Horton
The Gift of Pets by Bruce R. Coston
Meander by Jeremy Seal
What a Plant Knows by Daniel Chamovitz

Audio:

The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda

- For those of you curious about the inner workings of Macmillan, you may be interested in reading "Reorganization at Verlagsgruppe Georg von Holtzbrinck."

- And finally, can somebody get this pup a sandwich already?!

seal pup chewing wood

Read more

Well Done, New York Times Best Sellers!

This is the time of year that Talia and I are of the busier of the busy bees (maybe that's why we're buzzing so much lately??) and we end up missing some of the totally rad week-to-week Macmillan excitement.

So when Talia paused for 1/23 of a second to sip her coffee this morning and glanced at The New York Times Book Review Best Sellers list for May 27, she did a double-take and then called me in to talk about how many of our awesome books are on the list.

We high-fived about it.

To give these books a pat on the back, a nod of approval, and a "well done, champ!" I've listed them below:

Print Hardcover Bestsellers – FICTION

#3 BRING UP THE BODIES by Hilary Mantel

#11 THE SINS OF THE FATHER by Jeffrey Archer

#14 A DOG’S JOURNEY by W. Bruce Cameron

Print Hardcover Bestsellers - NONFICTION

#4 MOST TALKATIVE by Andy Cohen

#6 KILLING LINCOLN by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard

Print Paperback Bestsellers – TRADE FICTION

#20 WOLF HALL by Hilary Mantel

Print Paperback Bestsellers – NONFICTION

#11 SEAL TEAM SIX by Howard E. Wasdin and Stephen Templin

Print Bestsellers Advice, How-To and Miscellaneous - HARDCOVER

#4 THIS IS HOW by Augusten Burroughs

Print Children's Best Sellers - SERIES

#9 The Trylle Trilogy by Amanda Hocking

Print Hardcover and Paperback Combined – FICTION

#8 BRING UP THE BODIES by Hilary Mantel

#20 THE SINS OF THE FATHER by Jeffrey Archer

Print Hardcover and Paperback Combined - NONFICTION

#7 MOST TALKATIVE by Andy Cohen

#9 KILLING LINCOLN by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard

#32 THINKING, FAST AND SLOW by Daniel Kahneman

Editor's Choice

FARTHER AWAY by Jonathan Franzen

"The theme of human struggle against the pulls of solipsism and narcissism illuminates every page of the novelist’s essays."

OBLIVION by Héctor Abad. Translated by Anne McLean and Rosalind Harvey.

"Abad’s highly personal coming-of-age story is also a sociopolitical portrait of Colombia."

Read more