Articles tagged "Grace Grows"

Monday Fun Day! (12/3/2012 Edition)

Happy Monday, librarians!

- Tomorrow is the inaugural AAP Children's and YA Tri-State Book Buzz and we hope to see many of you there. We'll be feeding you with food and knowledge!

tri state kids

- We also hope so see many of our Philadelphia friends on Thursday for the publisher's book buzz and lunch at the Parkway Central Library! Details here.

- Also, it's time to check out our ALA Midwinter 2013 events schedule and start RSVPing for the fun! Take a look here.

- In reading news, Collection Development Librarian Beth from the Baltimore County Public Library blogs for about Romance on their library site. Recently she gave GRACE GROWS a lot of love! She said,

"Sumners tells the story of this slow-building romance with wit and honesty, making readers want Tyler and Grace to overcome the obstacles and find a way to be happy together. This is a love story that will appeal to fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner." Read her full review here.

kitties

Have an amazing week!

Read more

Featured Women's Fiction: Grace Grows

Today we're looking at a charming, fun, and sexy women's fiction debut, GRACE GROWS by Shelle Sumners!

You might have heard us talk about it at one of our book buzzes or you might remember Alene Moroni mentioning it at the Fourth Annual Librarian Shout n' Share at BEA this year. But even if you haven't heard of it, we recommend you check out a copy when it's available later this month.

Grace Barnum edits textbooks, is engaged to a patent attorney who is steady and reliable, and feels prepared for almost anything... that is, until Tyler Wilkie shows up outside her door.

"Sumners’s endearing and charming debut will appeal to chick lit and romance readers alike. Recommended for fans of Katie Fforde, Harriet Evans, and Eileen Rendahl." —Library Journal

"Readers will fall for the swoonworthy hero and root for the couple to overcome each obstacle." —Booklist

Aside from falling for the great story, we're (obviously) also head over heels for those beautiful pups on the cover. The best part? If you look closely you can see that one of them is sitting on the man's shoe!

Also check out a great interview with Shelle on the Women's Fiction Writers blog here.

Read more

The Ultimate #BookBattle2 Webinar Title List

Today at 2pm Talia and Chris (Sterling) are going head-to-head in a reprise of their Oscar-nominated book buzz performance from ALA Annual and you don't want to miss it this time around. Sign up now!

UPDATE: This event is now over. The archived Booklist webinar will be available here soon!

Here's a sneak peek at the books that Talia will be talking about this afternoon (and see her full slide deck here!). WARNING: Major spoilers below!

talia and chris

50 SHADES OF GREY Read-Alikes:

WILD CARD by Lora Leigh

BLUSH by Opal Carew

PANIC SNAP by Laura Reese

TOPPING FROM BELOW by Laura Reese

Adult Titles:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

A KILLING IN THE HILLS by Julia Keller

ROGUE by Mark Sullivan

YOUNG PHILBY by Robert Littell

CHINESE WHISKERS by Pallavi Aiyar

PAW PRINTS IN THE MOONLIGHT by Denis O'Connor

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

THE FORGETTING TREE by Tatjana Soli

THE ELEMENTALS by Francesca Lia Block

GRACE GROWS by Shelle Sumners

HOW I CAME TO SPARKLE AGAIN by Kaya McLaren

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff

THIS BOOK IS FULL OF SPIDERS by David Wong

SHAKESPEARE'S TREMOR AND ORWELL'S COUGH by John J. Ross, M.D.

WE KILLED by Yael Kohen

Teen Titles:

WAKE and LULLABY by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

MIDNIGHT CITY by J. Barton Mitchell

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

And, of course...

PIPPI MOVES IN! by Astrid Lindgren

Read more