Articles tagged "Eleanor Kuhns"

Library Journal's 2014 Mystery Preview

We loooove mysteries (the bloodier the better) and your patrons do, too! Our friend and Library Journal Mover & Shaker Kristi Chadwick recently wrote a mystery preview column for LJ and we're thrilled (pun intended) that it includes so many of our titles:

BAD COUNTRY by CB McKenzie
On sale November 4, 2014
The newest winner of the Tony Hillerman Prize, this Arizona-set debut mystery stars a Native American rodeo cowboy–turned–private investigator.

BOOTY BONES by Carolyn Haines
On sale May 20, 2014
In Haines's 14th charming Sarah Booth Delaney mystery, Sarah and her fiance Graf's island vacation goes disastrously awry when she's asked to solve the murder of a treasure-hunter.

BROADCHURCH by Erin Kelly
On sale September 2, 2014
This brilliant novelization of the hit television show Broadchurch follows Detectives Alec Hardy and Ellie Miller as they search for a young boy's killer in a quiet British seaside town.

CRADLE TO GRAVE by Eleanor Kuhns
On sale June 17, 2014
In the next Will Rees mystery from Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America competition winner Kuhns, Rees is stunned to learn a Shaker friend of his has been accused of kidnapping and murder.

FATAL ENQUIRY by Will Thomas
On sale May 13, 2014
Thomas is an Oklahoma librarian whose Barker & Llewellyn series, set in Victoria’s England, have won him a devoted following. His latest has the duo trying to figure out a reluctant ally's real motives.

FIVE by Ursula Archer
On sale December 9, 2014
Two Austrian detectives must investigate a series of murders committed by a killer who tattoos map coordinates on his victims in a twisted geocaching game.

FROZEN DEAD by Bernard Minier
On sale August 12, 2014
A suspenseful and chilling murder mystery set in a high-security asylum for the criminally insane and the snowy mountains of the French Pyrénées.

INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl
On sale May 6, 2014
In Dahl's accomplished debut, young journalist Rebekah Roberts finds herself drawn into her mother's tight-knit world when she's assigned to cover the murder of an Hasidic Jew.

LAND OF SHADOWS by Rachel Howzell Hall
On sale June 10, 2014
Homicide detective Elouise “Lou” Norton tries to connect a teen’s death with her own sister’s disappearance.

MIDNIGHT PLAN OF THE REPO MAN by W. Bruce Cameron
On sale October 28, 2014
A repo man's ordinary life is turned upside down when he starts hearing the voice of a dead realtor in his head.

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver
On sale October 14, 2014
An exquisite seaside resort, an eccentric group of British aristocrats on holiday, and rich 1930s detail lay the setting for this fantastic Golden Age–style debut mystery by young librarian Weaver.

WINK OF AN EYE by Lynn Chandler Willis
On sale November 18, 2014
The first woman to win the Minotaur Books/PWA Best First Private Eye Novel Competition in over 10 years, Willis's debut features PI Gypsy Moran who gets roped into a case of murder and police corruption in Texas.


Some titles are available on Edelweiss now—get whitelisted and start reading!
Read more

Monday Fun Day! (3/18/2013 Edition)

Happy post-St. Patrick's Day Monday! I know, I know. I'm not actually all that happy about being awake either. So let's get straight into the good stuff going on this week.

Good thing #1: Library Journal is hosting a totally rad webinar tomorrow at 3pm (EDT) that you must sign up for called "Editors' Picks: Hot Summer Titles from HarperCollins, Macmillan, and Random House." Details! Register!

Good thing #2: We have all sorts of awesome new e-galleys up on Edelweiss ready for you to download, including:

ALWAYS WATCHING by Chevy Stevens

THE HIGHWAY by C.J. Box

WITHOUT A SUMMER by Mary Robinette Kowal

THE HUMAN DIVISION by John Scalzi

THE DEVIL IN HER WAY by Bill Loehfelm

HER LAST BREATH by Linda Castillo

DEATH OF A DYER by Eleanor Kuhns

LOOKAWAY, LOOKAWAY by Wilton Barnhardt

Get whitelisted now!

Good thing #3: You can start reading or listening to Z: A Novel Of Zelda Fitzgerald now on HeroesandHeartbreakers.com. This will help you get through your lunch break.

Good thing #4: You can finally get the Sweet Valley sisters on your claws (see below).

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (8/13/2012 Edition)

Happy Monday!

- We're very excited to see some really excellent fiction published by Tor on the official ballot for the 2012 World Fantasy Awards! Jo Walton's AMONG OTHERS is up for Best Novel and two wonderful anothologies BLOOD AND OTHER CRAVINGS edited by Ellen Datlow and THE WEIRD edited by Ann and Jeff VanderMeer (which kept me company one dark and lonely workday) are both up for Best Anthology!

- Lydia Netzer's debut novel, SHINE SHINE SHINE, is a New York Times Editors' Choice!

- And for all you librarians out there moonlighting as writers, the 2013 Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America First Crime Novel Competition is now open. Last year's winning novel, A SIMPLE MURDER, was written by a librarian! Let's make it two years in a row!

- Also:

Read more

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2012 (booth 2544)

exhibiting logoWe're getting geared up for ALA Annual in Anaheim and it's about time we shared all of our exciting plans with you!

See our full schedule below:

FRIDAY, JUNE 22nd

5:30 PM
Macmillan booth 2544

Mignon Fogarty (a.k.a. Grammar Girl) will be signing copies of her Quick & Dirty Tips books and Deb Coonts will be signing copies of SO DAMN LUCKY in our booth.

SATURDAY, JUNE 23RD

10:30-12 PM
Convention Center Rm 202A

Gail Tsukiyama, author of A HUNDRED FLOWERS, and Jeri Westerson, author of TROUBLED BONES, will be speaking on ALTAFF’s "Historical Fiction" panel.

11:00 AM
Macmillan booth 2544

Kelli Stanley will be signing copies of CITY OF SECRETS in our booth.

1:30 PM
Exhibit Hall, Aisle 2200

Gail Tsukiyama, author of A HUNDRED FLOWERS, will be speaking at ALA’s LIVE! @ your library Reading Stage.

1:30-3:30 pm
Convention Center Rm 209A

Deb Coonts, author of SO DAMN LUCKY, will be speaking on ALTAFF’s “Isn’t It Romantic?” panel.

ALL DAY
Pop Top Stage

A number of excellent Macmillan authors will be speaking on the Popular Topics Stage for Mystery Day! Read all about the Macmillan authors here! And see the full Pop Top Stage schedule here.

ALL DAY
Unshelved Day @ ALA!

Our buddies over at Unshelved are celebrating TEN YEARS (say whaaaat?!) of comic strip goodness and they're encouraging you to show off your Unshelved pride on Saturday at ALA. Details on their blog!

SUNDAY, JUNE 24th

9:00-10:00 am
Convention Center Rm 210A/B

Ladies and gentlemen, this is the event you've all been waiting for... #BOOKBATTLE2: The Sequel! In one corner we have Talia "The Tiger" Sherer. In the other corner we have Chris "The Cutie" Vaccari. These two champs will duke it out to claim the title of Best Book Buzzer Ever! They'll be buzzing about books for both adults and teens! There will be galleys! There will be prizes! There will be A BATTLE TO THE DEATH!!

book battle 2

9:00-10:00 am
Hyatt, Royal Ballroom

YA Author Coffee Klatch with Alex Award-winner Rachel DeWoskin.

Enjoy coffee and meet with a number of great YA authors! Librarians will sit at a table and every 3 or 4 minutes, a new author will arrive at your table to chat.

10:30-12:00 pm
Convention Center Rm 204A

The Alex Award is given to the top 10 books that appeal to young adults, and is administered by YALSA and sponsored by the Margaret Alexander Edwards Trust. The 2012 Alex Award winning authors including Rachel DeWoskin, author of BIG GIRL SMALL, will speak about their books and the award on this panel.

10:30-12:00 pm
Convention Center Rm 204C

The Great Non-Fiction Read-Alike: If You Like This, You’ll LOVE That! with Trivia!

As the popularity of non-fiction reading for pleasure continues to grow, librarians have a great opportunity to grow their reader’s advisory skills. All-star panelists Alene Moroni (Manager, Selection & Order, King County), Anna Mickelsen (Reference Librarian, Springfield City), Kaite Stover (Manager, Readers’ Services, Kansas City), Robin Nesbitt (Technical Services Director, Columbus Metropolitan), and Stephanie Chase (Head, Reference, Adult Services, & Programming, Multnomah County) will cover major trends in popular non-fiction and recommend upcoming titles with pre-publication buzz as well as titles from your backlist will satisfy your patrons while the best-selling titles are on hold.

2:30 PM
Macmillan booth 2544

Joel Engel will be signing copies of L.A. '56 in our booth.

4:00 PM
Macmillan booth 2544

Francesca Lia Block will be signing copies of THE ELEMENTALS in our booth.

MONDAY, JUNE 25th

10:00 AM
Macmillan booth 2544

Eleanor Kuhns will be signing copies of A SIMPLE MURDER in our booth.

2:00 PM-4:00 PM
Anaheim Marriott, Grand Salon E

Jane Green, author of ANOTHER PIECE OF MY HEART, will be speaking at the ALTAFF "Gala Author Tea." Tickets required.

Read more

Library Journal's Spring Adult Book Buzz!

This afternoon during Library Journal's Spring Adult Book Buzz (3pm Eastern, #ljadultbuzz), I'll be discussing all of the super fabulous upcoming titles listed below!

Join me, Virginia from HarperCollins, Kelly and Erica from Random House, Elenita from Perseus, and moderator Barbara Hoffert from Library Journal for an hour-long book buzz webinar party today! Register now!

A LADY CYCLIST'S GUIDE TO KASHGAR | Suzanna Joinson | 978-1-60819-811-5

SHINE SHINE SHINE | Lydia Netzer | 978-1-250-00707-0

BENEATH THE SHADOWS | Sara Foster | 978-0-312-64336-2

THE LAND OF DECORATION | Grace McCleen | 978-0-8050-9494-7

A SIMPLE MURDER | Eleanor Kuhns | 978-1-250-00553-3

DEAD SCARED | S. J. Bolton | 978-0-312-60053-2

KILL YOU TWICE | Chelsea Cain | 978-0-312-61978-7

THE OTHER WOMAN | Hank Phillippi Ryan | 978-0-7653-3257-8

BRING UP THE BODIES | Hilary Mantel | 978-0-8050-9003-1

WHERE WE BELONG | Emily Giffin | 978-0-312-55419-4

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND | Matthew Dicks | 978-1-250-00621-9

THIS IS NOT A TEST | Courtney Summers | 978-0-312-65674-4

REDSHIRTS | John Scalzi | 978-0-7653-1699-8

GLAMOUR IN GLASS | Mary Robinette Kowal | 978-0-7653-2557-0

THE WITCH'S DAUGHTER | Paula Brackston | 978-0-312-62168-1

AMONG OTHERS | Jo Walton | 978-0-7653-2153-4

CHINESE WHISKERS | Pallavi Aiyar | 978-1-250-01448-1

PAW PRINTS IN THE MOONLIGHT | Denis O'Connor | 978-0-312-66829-7

Read more

Barbara's Mystery Preview for LJ!

Barbara Hoffert posted an extensive Mystery Preview for May 2012-August 2012 on Library Journal's website with some great upcoming titles that you'll want to take a peek at.

Barbara listed quite a few hawk... ehem, excuse me... hot titles coming from Minotaur later this year:

"Winner of the Agatha, Anthony, and Barry awards, plus multiple Lefty and Bromberg awards for best funny mysteries, Donna Andrews sets out to prove herself again with SOME LIKE IT HAWK." (July)

"Linda Castillo, winner of a Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense, gets appropriately atmospheric in GONE MISSING." (June)

"Sara Foster’s BENEATH THE SHADOWS is set in North Yorkshire, where Grace and Adam move to escape London. And then Adam vanishes." (June)

"Paul Doiron’s BAD LITTLE FALLS puts registered Maine guide Mike Bowditch on remote Canadian border, where a drug dealer has apparently been murdered in the midst of a blizzard." (August)

"Finally, librarian Eleanor Kuhns has won 2011’s Mystery Writers of America/Minotaur Books First Crime Novel Competition. Set in 1796 Maine, A SIMPLE MURDER features soldier turned traveling weaver Will Rees, accused of murdering a Shaker woman." (May)

She also included three excellent titles coming from Forge:

"Bill Pronzini, winner of the Edgar, Macavity, and inaugural Shamus awards, brings back the Nameless Detective, whose wife goes missing in the Sierra foothills [in] HELLBOX." (July)

"In Macavity Award winner Rebecca Cantrell’s A CITY OF BROKEN GLASS, journalist Hannah Vogel, in 1938 Poland for a festival, rushes to cover the story when she learns that 12,000 Polish Jews have been deported from Germany." (July)

"Loren D. Estleman, winner of a Shamus Award for his debut novel, SUGARTOWN, and several for his short stories, returns with BURNING MIDNIGHT, another Amos Walker mystery set in Detroit." (June)

She mentions a great crime title from Bloomsbury USA:

"In contemporary Milan, as seen in Conor Fitzgerald’s THE NAMESAKE, magistrate Matteo Arconti’s namesake is found dead near a court building in what turns out to be a threatening message to Rome." (June)

Oh yes, and finally a winner from Holt:

"Finally, don’t forget VENGEANCE. [...] Author Benjamin Black, whose Quirke novels have been big hits, is of course the Man Book prize winner John Banville." (June)

Great picks, Barbara!

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (3/12/2012 Edition)

phillyWe're off to PLA on Tuesday, so this will be our last post until next Monday. If you're also going to be in Philly this week, please stop by our booth (#1540) and join us for our many wonderful author signings and events! We want to see you! See our full PLA schedule under Conference Info.

And take a peek at Talia's slides for the Book Buzz presentations with Nancy Pearl (link).

jc giveWhile we're away, take a minute to enter the Jackie Collins "Pink" Collection Giveaway for a chance to win some excellent signed Jackie Collins books and audio books!

Three of our excellent titles were longlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction: HALF-BLOOD BLUES by Esi Edugyan, TIDES OF WAR by Stella Tillyard, and THE SUBMISSION by Amy Waldman! See the full longlist here.

Take another look at the letter we posted last week from author and librarian Eleanor Kuhns to librarians (link). Also, our buddies at Minotaur Books are running an A SIMPLE MURDER Advance Readers' Edition Sweepstakes right now! Enter here for a chance to win a galley.

Read more

A Letter to You from Eleanor Kuhns

Today we're sharing with you an introduction letter from the 2011 Minotaur/Mystery Writer of America Best First Novel-winning author and librarian, Eleanor Kuhns. Instead of us telling you about her life as a librarian/author and the details of her thrilling new historical mystery, A SIMPLE MURDER, we figured we should leave that up to the expert—her! Without further ado...

Dear Librarians,

Winning the 2011 Minotaur/Mystery Writer of America Best First Novel contest is the culmination of my lifetime dream of becoming a published writer. I wrote my first story when I was ten and by then I was already an avid reader. I wanted then, and still strive, to recreate with my fiction that shock of discovery, that almost life-changing experience of reading a good story. I have never lost that passion for compelling the same response in a reader that I felt as a child.

Read more