Articles tagged "Darynda Jones"

SIXTH GRAVE ON THE EDGE is a May 2014 LibraryReads pick!

Break out the chocolate and coffee, it's time to celebrate! SIXTH GRAVE ON THE EDGE by Darynda Jones is the #9 pick on the May 2014 LibraryReads list!

In the latest book in the Charley Davidson series, the part-time investigator and full-time Grim Reaper is engaged to Reyes Farrow. Sure he's the son of Satan, but he's dark, sultry, sexy, and everything Charley could hope for. So when the FBI file on Reyes's childhood ends up in Charley's hands she can't resist looking at it... and then the real fun begins.

First, Charley finds a naked corpse riding shotgun in her car. Then, a man loses his soul in a card game. Throw in a deaf boy who sees dead people, a woman running from mobsters, and a very suspicious Reyes, and things can’t get any worse for Charley. Unless, of course, the Twelve Beasts of Hell are unleashed...

Also available in the Charley Davidson series:
FIFTH GRAVE PAST THE LIGHT
FOURTH GRAVE BENEATH MY FEET
THIRD GRAVE DEAD AHEAD
SECOND GRAVE ON THE LEFT
FIRST GRAVE ON THE RIGHT

Read more

Whatcha Readin' This Month?

Edelweiss logoEach month we receive reports about which of our titles are being downloaded on Edelweiss. Naturally, we're curious to see what you've been reading and we thought you might be interested, too!
Here are the top e-galley downloads for March 2014:

1) LANDLINE by Rainbow Rowell
2) TAKEN by Lora Leigh
3) THE SNOW QUEEN by Michael Cunningham
4) SIXTH GRAVE ON THE EDGE by Darynda Jones
5) LILA by Marilynne Robinson
6) THAT SUMMER by Lauren Willig

Keep reading and remember to nominate the books you love for LibraryReads!
Read more

Children's and Teen Librarians Tri-State Book Buzz!

We had a great time talking about forthcoming titles this morning with Children's and Teen Librarians from all over the tri-state area!

AAP YA Book Buzz 2012

Here's a refresher for attendees (and a first look for those who couldn't make it) at the excellent St. Martin's Griffin titles coming in Winter 2013:

Contemporary:

IF YOU FIND ME | Emily Murdoch

ELEANOR & PARK | Rainbow Rowell

USES FOR BOYS | Erica Lorraine Scheidt

Paranormal:

THE HAVEN | Carol Lynch Williams

TIDAL (Watersong #3) | Amanda Hocking

OVERRIDE (Glitch #2) | Heather Anastasiu

DEATH, DOOM AND DETENTION (#2) | Darynda Jones

TEMPEST (Tempest #1) | Julie Cross

VORTEX (Tempest #2) | Julie Cross

THE HUNT (Hunt #1) | Andrew Fukuda

THE PREY (Hunt #2) | Andrew Fukuda

INFERNO (Chronicles of Nick #4) | Sherrilyn Kenyon

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (7/30/2012 Edition)

Happy Monday, librarians! Welcome to the party (read: work week).

Today we're bringing you the good news about a few very special debuts.

RWA- First of all, congratulations to Darynda Jones! The Romance Writers of America selected her debut, FIRST GRAVE ON THE RIGHT, as the 2012 RITA Winner for Best First Book! The first three books in this series starring part-time private investigator and full-time grim reaper Charley Davidson are available now from St. Martin's Press with a fourth coming soon! See all of this year's RITA winners here.

- If your patrons are looking for high-adventure of the steampunk variety with a Japanese twist, we're giving away galleys of STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff. It's a swashbuckling debut that Publishers Weekly named their Pick of the Week!

- Earlier this month we posted a Q&A with Lydia Netzer, debut author of SHINE SHINE SHINE. Goodreads also interviewed Lydia. Read it here!

Meanwhile in North Carolina...

Talia and the cats are still unpacking and adjusting to the new place.

cat and boxes

To her great delight, whilst out adventuring in her new neighborhood Talia popped into the local Barnes & Noble and spotted a shelf almost entirely dedicated to St. Martin's Griffin titles!

b&n shelf

Read more

The Ultimate #BookBattle2 Webinar Title List

Today at 2pm Talia and Chris (Sterling) are going head-to-head in a reprise of their Oscar-nominated book buzz performance from ALA Annual and you don't want to miss it this time around. Sign up now!

UPDATE: This event is now over. The archived Booklist webinar will be available here soon!

Here's a sneak peek at the books that Talia will be talking about this afternoon (and see her full slide deck here!). WARNING: Major spoilers below!

talia and chris

50 SHADES OF GREY Read-Alikes:

WILD CARD by Lora Leigh

BLUSH by Opal Carew

PANIC SNAP by Laura Reese

TOPPING FROM BELOW by Laura Reese

Adult Titles:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

A KILLING IN THE HILLS by Julia Keller

ROGUE by Mark Sullivan

YOUNG PHILBY by Robert Littell

CHINESE WHISKERS by Pallavi Aiyar

PAW PRINTS IN THE MOONLIGHT by Denis O'Connor

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

THE FORGETTING TREE by Tatjana Soli

THE ELEMENTALS by Francesca Lia Block

GRACE GROWS by Shelle Sumners

HOW I CAME TO SPARKLE AGAIN by Kaya McLaren

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff

THIS BOOK IS FULL OF SPIDERS by David Wong

SHAKESPEARE'S TREMOR AND ORWELL'S COUGH by John J. Ross, M.D.

WE KILLED by Yael Kohen

Teen Titles:

WAKE and LULLABY by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

MIDNIGHT CITY by J. Barton Mitchell

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

And, of course...

PIPPI MOVES IN! by Astrid Lindgren

Read more

Boston Book Buzz: For Teens!

The Boston Book Buzz is currently underway!

For those of us following along at home check out the hastag #bostonbookbuzz and I've listed below all of the teen titles that Talia will be presenting (see her slide show here)!

FIERCE READS

STRUCK by Jennifer Bosworth

OF POSEIDON by Anna Banks

MONUMENT 14 by Emmy Laybourne

SHADOW AND BONE by Leigh Bardugo

Also see: FierceReads.com

MORE TITLES FOR TEENS

WAKE by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK and GLOW by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (4/2/2012 Edition)

Haaaaappy Monday, lovely librarians!

- If you're going to be in Houston for TxLA in a few weeks, be sure to stop by booth #1704 to say hi! We'll have stacks of great galleys for you. See our full TxLA 2012 schedule here.

- Congrats to Kelli Stanley who just won the Golden Nugget Award for the best mystery set in California with CITY OF SECRETS!

- Also, congrats to our two RITA Award finalists Darynda Jones and Christina Brooke! Read about their super sexy books here.

- If you're one of the many that can't wait to dive in to Chelsea Cain's latest thriller, KILL YOU TWICE, head over to CriminalElement.com for a nice long excerpt.

pup in box

Read more

2012 RITA Finalists Announced!

The Romance Writers of America announced the finalists for the 2012 RITA Awards and two of our favorite steamy romances are on their list!

Darynda Jones' fun and sexy debut, FIRST GRAVE ON THE RIGHT, about part-time private investigator and full-time grim reaper Charley Davidson is a finalist for 2012 Best First Book and 2012 Best Novel with Strong Romantic Elements! Let's not forget that FIRST GRAVE ON THE RIGHT previously won the 2009 Golden Heart for Best Paranormal Novel.

RWAChristina Brooke's steamy Regency historical, HEIRESS IN LOVE, is the first in her scandalous Ministry of Marriage series following widow Roxdale who is quite inconveniently falling hard for an unrepentant rake. HEIRESS IN LOVE is a finalist for the 2012 Best Regency Historical Romance!

Way to go, Darynda and Christina!

Read more

Starred Review for Third Grave Dead Ahead

After her adventures in the RWA Golden Heart Award-winning novel FIRST GRAVE ON THE RIGHT and sequel SECOND GRAVE ON THE LEFT, Private Investigator and Grim Reaper Charlie Davidson has come to find that leading a double life of solving crimes and shepherding souls into the afterlife exhausting. But the cases, the dead, and the boys just keep getting wilder!

Publishers Weekly gave the third installment in the series, THIRD GRAVE DEAD AHEAD, a starred review and called P.I./Grim Reaper Charlie, "smart" and "wickedly hilarious." Of the story, they said, "Jones pulls all the craziness together in the end while leaving plenty of open threads to pull the reader into the next installment."

Library Journal said, "A must-buy for Charley Davidson fans, the novel has an engaging style--coupled with the enjoyable sarcasm of its protagonist--that will no doubt win Jones an expanding readership among paranormal romance/mystery aficionados."

And Booklist said, "Readers will be dying to know where the fourth grave is."

The REAL question is, what do librarians think of it? Well, Shayera Tangri of Los Angeles Public tweeted, "I LOVED Third Grave Dead Ahead. Loved it like I love cake. And you know that's a lot. :-)" We do know, Shayera. We do, indeed.

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (12/5/2011 Edition)

Welcome to a new week, librarians! We've had an exciting few weeks as the Best of 2011 lists come in and we get to celebrate many of our favorite books from throughout the year.

- FIRST GRAVE ON THE RIGHT by Darynda Jones and narrated by Lorelei King has been named Best Romance Audio Book of 2011 by Audible!

- Steampunk pioneer and Hugo Award-nominated title, BONESHAKER, is scheduled to hit the silver screen! Variety has all the details here.

Mystery Cake- BURY YOUR DEAD by Louise Penny took home the Nero Award this weekend and we were even more heart-warmed to hear it after Ms. Penny joined us in the office last week for some deliciously mysterious cake!

- Finally, Esquire named THE SUBMISSION by Amy Waldman Book of the Year!

Read more