Articles tagged "Cats"

Happy #BookBday (4/1/14 Edition)

Today we’re excited to wish a very happy #BookBday to:

SEDITION by Katharine Grant
In this "...witty, dark, and sophisticated tale" (Publishers Weekly, starred review), four nouveau rich fathers make their five marriageable daughters learn to play the piano in an effort to attract men and marry well. "[A] fun, lascivious gambol through the lives of women and men with decidedly carnal appetites... Suggest to fans of Sarah Dunant and Sarah Waters." — Booklist

MIMI MALLOY, AT LAST! by Julia MacDonnell
An April 2014 Indie Next pick! "MacDonnell captures perfectly the family dynamics between sisters, mothers, and daughters, as if she were sitting in on their gab sessions, taking copious notes. For readers who enjoy Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher, this is a highly engaging family chronicle, with a healthy dose of Irish history laced in as well." — Booklist

THE VENETIAN BARGAIN by Marina Fiorato
An unforgettable love story set in sixteenth century Venice by the bestselling author of THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. "Headstrong, smart, and likable, Feyra is a heroine who will resonate with most readers. Captivating language, intricate details, and a very dramatic story line combine to entice anyone interested in historical fiction and timeless tales." — Booklist

And in honor of April Fool’s Day, don’t forget to visit the Free Library of Philadelphia’s innovative new 'Cat'alog. #meow
Read more

Happy Valentine's Day 2014!

Talia, Anne (and her oven), Shmackies (seen left, trying to eat Talia's brownie), and Louie (right) wish all of you a Happy Valentine's Day! Thank you for all the love you give to our books (and us!). XOXO!

Valentine

Read more

We Love Books About Books

Who can resist books about books and libraries? We can't! Here's just a few of the latest titles we're into (Caution: some books may include kittens):

WHY I READ: The Serious Pleasure of Books by Wendy Lesser
Founder of the Threepenny Review, Lesser's "delectably sophisticated inquiry into why reading is a constant source of pleasure and provocation" (Booklist) is as much a memoir as it is about the craft of literature. Written in "erudite, beautiful passages," WHY I READ "will speak to booklovers of all types." – Publishers Weekly, starred review. If you're attending ALA Midwinter, make sure to meet Wendy Lesser in booth #622!

WHAT MAKE THIS BOOK SO GREAT by Jo Walton
This collection of Tor.com blog posts from Hugo and Nebula Award–winning author Walton about her favorites works of sci-fi and fantasy is "...akin to a genre version of Nancy Pearl's BOOK LUST." (Library Journal, starred review) "For readers unschooled in the history of SF/F, this book is a treasure trove; for those who recognize every title, Walton evokes the joy of returning to a well-worn favorite."Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE SHELF: From LEQ to LES: Adventures in Extreme Reading by Phyllis Rose
No, this isn't reading while rappelling down a mountain like we hoped, but it is still an extreme library sport: to read through an entire shelf of library books. In Rose's case, her randomly chosen shelf of fiction from LEQ to LES contained a classic she has not read, a remarkable variety of authors, and a range of literary styles from mystery to humor. Perhaps it'll inspire similar challenges in your library!

Now that we're thinking about cats, here are 21 cats who are secretly excellent readers!

Read more

Monday Fun Day on Columbus Day!

Hello lovely librarians! We hope you had a nice weekend and we know for some of you it's still the weekend because of Columbus Day. Here's a look at a couple key backlist titles, in the spirit of the day:
To recount the wild era when Europeans first roamed the New World (between Columbus's sail in 1492 and the Pilgrims' arrival in 1620), Horwitz sets out on a modern-day adventure. Along the way he retraced the steps of our early explorers by going inside an Indian sweat lodge in subarctic Canada, down the Mississippi in a canoe, taking a road trip fueled by buffalo meat, and fitting into sixty pounds of armor as a conquistador re-enactor in Florida.

1494: How a Family Feud in Medieval Spain Divided the World in Half by Stephen R. Bown
In 1494, award-winning author Stephen R. Bown tells the untold story of the explosive feud between monarchs, clergy, and explorers that split the globe between Spain and Portugal and made the world’s oceans a battleground. "This is a starry love story, a tale of seething jealousies and subterfuge, a political imbroglio, and religious cruelties. It sounds like Shakespeare and it could have very well been the plot of one of his plays.... In the 15th century, the world began to take shape in the ways we understand it today." –Toronto Star
Since we’re talking about exploration, here are some cats exploring exciting new places:
Cats in Funny Places
Happy Columbus Day!
Read more

Afternoon Cute!

We interrupt your Tuesday afternoon coffee break for a very important introduction.

Librarians, meet Siete, the cat with seven toes... on EACH of her front paws!

siete

She's a Hemingway (polydactyl) cat, an evolutionary masterpiece, and the cutest little grocery bag spelunker EVER.

She lives with Michelle Campbell from our children's school and library marketing department. She has also been invited to live in our hearts forever.

Read more

Tuesday Fun Day! (9/25/2012 Edition)

Happy Tuesday, all!

- Tupelo Hassman's debut GIRLCHILD has been shortlisted for the 2012 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize! This prize, awarded by The Center for Fiction and the American Booksellers Association, is awarded to the best debut novel of the year. The winner will be announced on December 11th, 2012 at the Center for Fiction Annual Benefit & Awards Dinner. See all of the nominees here.

Raisin 20 years banner

- We're celebrating 20 years of small-town Mysteries starring feisty amateur sleuth Agatha Raisin! Reviews for M.C. Beaton's latest (ehem, twenty-third!) Raisin Mystery, HISS AND HERS, praise Beaton for continued quality and fun in her long-running cozy series.

"Kudos to 20 years of sleuthing for Agatha Raisin, a standard-bearer for the cozy." -Library Journal

"This well-written series is still going strong and will appeal to fans of Sue Ann Jaffarian and Mary Daheim." -Booklist

Sign in to our Mystery community site CriminalElement.com to read an excerpt and enter to win the entire twenty-two volume set of Agatha Raisin Mysteries!

- Looking for the next 50 SHADES OF GREY read-alike? Try ANYTHING HE WANTS from from self-published phenomenon Sara Fawkes! The popular e-series will be available in a single paperback in November from St. Martin's Press. Read about the acquisition.

- There's news on the e-book lending front: "Macmillan Poised to Test Library E-book Model." (via Publishers Weekly)

- And your cat needs one of these:

cat unicorn hat

Read more

Monday (Absurdly) Fun Day! (7/16/2012 Edition)

Welcome to a new week, biblio-buddies!

We put up a number of important and delightful posts last week that we don't want you to miss including:

- An interview with debut novelist Lydia Netzer whose curious and compelling first novel, SHINE SHINE SHINE, comes out this week!

- Sign up information for the Edelweiss Librarian Boot Camp which you should all add to your calendars.

- The list of forthcoming titles that Talia presented during the most recent Booklist webinar, Book Battle 2: this time it's personal!, and we included a link to her slides.

GalleyCat has your cat video fix covered with The Most Popular Literary Cat Videos of All Time.

But most importantly: Sunday was Talia's birthday! I stayed behind on Friday with Peter and Emily from Academic Marketing and we did that thing that everyone hears about, but no one actually does: we blew up hundreds of balloons to leave in Talia's office...

balloon pic 1

balloon pic 2

balloon pic 3

Total balloon count: 432.

Read more

Featured Feline Friday!

We want to give a little extra love to all of the mystical, sphinx-like kitties that were featured in this month's e-newsletter (missed out? View the e-newsletter here!).

Behold!

Sphinx Cats

From left to right:

Sphinx Tiger (caretaker: Stephanie Chase, Multnomah County)
Sphinx Peach (caretaker: Alene Moroni, King County)
Lazy Sphinx Cubby (caretaker: Erin Shea, Darien)
Sphinx Sasha (caretaker: Jessica E. Moyer, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)
The Late Sphinx Annabelle (caretaker: Dawn Rutherford, Sno-Isle)

Rest in peace, lovely Annabelle. As for the rest of you mysterious furballs, I have no doubt that you will continue confounding us with your adorable kitten riddles!

Read more

Bringing Thrills to Readers

It's our job. It's what we do best. We like to think we know where readers are (in our case, libraries!), and that's how we help our books. But sometimes, more and more recently, authors are helping us! Take Marshall Karp, author of Flipping Out. In these tough times, only our biggest stars get to go on nationwide book tours. However, inventive authors like Karp never cease to innovate! PW published an excellent article on Karp's 30 blog in 30 days tour.

Read more