Articles tagged "Brad Parks"

Thriller Thursday (3/27/14 Edition) plus Left Coast Crime Award winners!

Happy #ThrillerThursday, friends! We've got a creepy new crop of mysteries, plus Left Coast Crime Award Winners! Read on for more:

THE COAL BLACK ASPHALT TOMB by David Handler
Romantic crime-fighting duo Mitch Berger and Desiree Mitry must go up against the town's aristocracy to solve the forty-year-old murder of a missing Navy flyer, found during overdue construction on a quaint New England road. "The affable Burger mines town gossip, and Mitry digs into some sordid town history en route to the satisfying resolution of the murder case." — Publishers Weekly

I REMEMBER YOU by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
"Sigurdardottir has written an excellent and seriously scary mystery with tangible and supernatural elements that will appeal to fans of John Ajvide Lindqvist (LET THE RIGHT ONE IN)." Library Journal, starred review.
We loved this one (and some of you did, too!).

THE REVENANT OF THRAXTON HALL by Vaughn Entwistle
In Entwistle's debut, Arthur Conan Doyle and Oscar Wilde team up to investigate the future death of a medium at a manor in the English countryside. "Entwistle assembles an intriguing cast, including a levitator whose acts go awry, an enigmatic foreign count, and a Russian mystic who warns of dangerous revenants (returning spirits), for his whimsical plot." — Publishers Weekly

NOTORIOUS by Allison Brennan
In this start of a new series, bestselling author Brennan introduces tough-as-nails TV reporter Max Revere, who's got a knack for solving cold cases–except for the one from her own past. "[A] terrific new series. Sandra Brown and Hank Phillippi Ryan fans will feel right at home." – Booklist, starred review

WITHOUT WARNING by David Rosenfelt
When a small town in Maine is devastated by a hurricane, it unearths a time capsule that includes predictions about past murders...and future ones to come. "Descriptions of Rosenfelt’s latest stand-alone: Spooky. Creepy. Edgy. Chilling. Shuddery. What more could anyone want? The novel steps into Michael Connelly ground... highly recommended for readers craving that elusive 'something different.'” — Booklist

The Left Coast Crime Awards were recently announced and we're thrilled to have three winners from Minotaur Books:

The Lefty: Best humorous mystery novel
THE GOOD COP by Brad Parks

The Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery Award: Best historical mystery novel covering events before 1960
DANDY GILVER AND A BOTHERSOME NUMBER OF CORPSES by Catriona McPherson

The Calamari: Best mystery set anywhere else in the world
HOW THE LIGHT GETS IN by Louise Penny


Click here
to see the full list of nominees and winners. Congratulations to all winners!

Read more

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more!

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (3/25/2013 Edition)

Happy new week, librarians!

- Congratulations to Brad Parks, author of THE GIRL NEXT DOOR which won the 2013 Lefty Award for the best humorous mystery! AND congratulations to Catrona McPherson, author of DANDY GILVER AND AN UNSUITABLE DAY FOR MURDER which won the 2013 Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery Award! Both of these honors were awarded at the Left Coast Crime convention in Colorado Springs. See all of the 2013 Crime Fiction Award-winners.

- Graywolf Press, one of our excellent distribution clients, has a gorgeous new website: GraywolfPress.org. I'll admit that I miss the trio of wolves that used to walk on screen in the upper right hand corner, but I'm sure they've been released into the digital wilds to roam free.

- Uncharted Pages is now updated with another season's worth of fantastic books featuring totally rad preternatural stuff. Find out more about the books and the giveaways here!

- We posted our schedule for the Texas Library Association Annual Conference! Please join us in the booth (#1137) and at all of our fine events.

- If you missed Library Journal's "Editors' Picks" webinar, find out which four summer titles our editors were raving about here. UPDATE: You can now watch the full archived webinar! (Macmillan titles begin at the 18 minute mark.)

- And finally, this puppy:

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (2/4/2013 Edition)

Hello, librarian buds! We'reback in the office after ALA Midwinter and ready to talk about a bunch of great award nomination news.

The 2013 nominees for the Left Coast Crime (a.k.a. Lefty) Award, which honors the best humorous mystery published during the previous year, have been annouced! The Macmillan nominees are:

SWIFT RUN by Laura DiSilverio

THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Brad Parks

Also HUSH MONEY by Chuck Greaves has been shortlisted for the Rocky Award for best mystery novel set in the Left Coast Crime geographical region and DANDY GILVER AND AN UNSUITABLE DAY FOR A MURDER by Catriona McPherson is shortlisted for the Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery Award, which is given to mystery novels covering events before 1960!

Winners will be announced on March 23rd during the 23rd annual Left Coast Crime Convention in Colorado Springs, CO.

In other award news, Colin Cotterill's GRANDAD, THERE'S A HEAD ON THE BEACH was shortlisted for this year’s Dilys Award! See all of the nominees here.

And again in award news, CURSE OF THE JADE LILY by David Housewright is up for the Genre Fiction Minnesota Book Award this year! See the rest of the cetegories and nominees here.

In, um, dragon news, Publishers Weekly talked to Marie Brennan, author of A NATURAL HISTORY OF DRAGONS, about—you guessed it—dragons! Read "Why Do Dragons Look Like That?" on PublishersWeekly.com.

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (2/27/2012 Edition)

Welcome back, Monday!

- Library Journal's Douglas Lord strikes again with another round of bada** books for dude-identified readers. He said there has been "mucho good new reading around BFD HQ lately," including two of our books:

On CITY OF BOHANE by Kevin Barry he said, "It’s elegiac, lyrical, rollicking fun that mixes Brian Friel with A CLOCKWORK ORANGE." And he recommends that you try it "if you are tired of the same old crap."

On THE FOREST LAIRD: A Tale of William Wallace by Jack Whyte he said, "There’s brotherhood, patriotism, and political intrigue. And archery."

See all of the good Lord's recommendations in "The Good Guys, the Bad Guys, and the Ugly Guys in Six Suspenseful New Novels."

- Flavorwire took a liking to this year's Debut with the Best Library-Themed Cover (according to us), GIRLCHILD! They said, "The book is an inventive, electric story of youth and survival, as smart, Girl Scout-obsessed Rory, refusing to accept her fate as one of the 'third-generation bastards surely on the road to whoredom,' navigates her world." Earn your literary girl survivalism badge by reading your way through Hassman's book list (link).

Orlando Book- Following up on my #FridayReads: I finished the curious debut SHINE SHINE SHINE this weekend... no thanks to this mischievous feline! Nice try, cat, but you can't sabotage my weekend reading that easily!

- Also check out my paperback book club picks!

- And finally, this week's Macmillan Library Author Crush, er, I mean Profile is... Brad Parks! If you didn't catch the Author Buzz Focus for THE GIRL NEXT DOOR in Shelf Awareness, take a peek here!

Read more

Brad Parks at Books and Crannies

In today's (excellent, as always) issue of Shelf Awareness, our favorite literary zen masters showcased an unexpected friendship between Virginia-based author Brad Parks (EYES OF THE INNOCENT) and a small town bookstore in Terrell, Texas.

Back in August, Parks exchanged a few emails with Gayle Harris, a fan who happened to own a shop, Books and Crannies. After a few lively back-and-forths, Parks decided he needed to get out to Terrell to see this charming theatre-turned-bookstore for himself.

Ultimately, Parks warns readers that the article is "a cautionary tale for all you book peddlers out there--never write an author and tell him you love his book and own a bookstore. Chances are good he will do what I did: invite himself to your store for a signing."

Read more

Brad Parks on Lesa's Book Critiques

Earlier this week, award-winning book reviewer for Library Journal and Mystery Readers Journal, Lesa Holstine of Lesa's Book Critiques, hosted Brad Parks as a guest blogger.

His post begins, "Exactly twenty-six years and five months ago, at the end of a hot and dusty Connecticut summer, in a time of desperation the likes of which I can now barely describe, I committed a heinous crime. I stole from a public library..." keep reading!

Read more