Articles tagged "Booklist Webinar"

Sign Up Now: Thrilling Mysteries Booklist Webinar

Booklist webinar logo












Who better to talk about murder and mystery than Talia "the terror" Sherer?

She'll be sharing her favorite forthcoming mysteries at Booklist's "Thrilling Mysteries" webinar on Tuesday, April 29th at 1pm Central. It's going to be killer.

Click here to RSVP. See you there!

Read more

Halloween Horror Week – Terrifying Tuesday!

Today's the day of the Booklist "Red Hot Crime" webinar! Join your favorite mistress of mayhem, Talia "the terror" Sherer, at 1pm Central Time to find out what mysteries are keeping her up late at night. There's still time to sign up--click here to RSVP.

Talia's Gory Bits


If you can't wait until then, make sure to check out Talia's Favorite Gory Bits feature on Booklist for some classic backlist choices:

Cat lobster

EVIL AT HEART by Chelsea Cain

FLESH HOUSE by Stuart MacBride

SHAKE THE DEVIL OFF by Ethan Brown

THE GARGOYLE by Andrew Davidson

SNOW ANGELS by James Thompson

Read more

Our Thrilling Mysteries from the Booklist Webinar

Yesterday Talia kicked off Booklist's "Thrilling Mysteries" collection development webinar by spreading the good word about fifteen of our finest forthcoming Mysteries!

The List of Macmillan Titles:

View or download the full deck of presentation slides from this webinar at BooklistOnline.com! We will post a link to the archived webinar when it becomes available.

UPDATE (5/13): Booklist archived the webinar on their site. It's now available to view here. Enjoy.

Read more

You're Invited! RSVP Now!

Hello readers! We're officially back and happily exhausted after a great TxLA conference in Fort Worth. We had a blast with our Texan librarian friends, but it's time to look onward to the next conferences and events. Below are a few upcoming events that you need to get on the list for now so you don't miss out.

Booklist Webinar:

It's time to register for the Booklist's "Thrilling Mysteries: Can’t-Miss Crime Fiction for Spring" webinar which is TOMORROW at (CORRECTION!) 2pm EDT. It's going to be killer.

BookExpo America:

Request seating at the AAP's Annual BEA Librarians Dinner with Erica Jong, author of FEAR OF FLYING, which will take place on Wednesday, May 29th at 6pm in the Yale Club of NYC (there is a separate dinner for childrens' librarians; info on the same page).

Also register now for the AAP's BEA Librarians Author Lunch with Louise Penny, author of the Chief Inspector Gamache novels, to take place in the Javits Center Room 1E14-1E15 on Thursday, May 30th, at 12:15pm.

Full BEA schedule of events to come!

ALA Annual:

RSVP by June 14th for the AAP’s Book-A-Licious Breakfast with Mary Kay Andrews at ALA Annual on Saturday, June 29th, at 8:30am in Room N227B of the McCormick Place Convention Center.

And while there's no RSVP required for the AAP’S Library Family Feud in which librarians go head-to-head with authors (such as our very own John Scalzi!) on Sunday, June 30th at 2:30pm at the Hyatt Regency McCormick Place Jackson Park in 10BC, we highly recommend you get it on your schedule now!

Read more

Sign Up Now: Thrilling Mysteries Booklist Webinar

booklist webinar header

Join us at the Booklist webinar "Thrilling Mysteries: Can’t-Miss Crime Fiction for Spring" on April 30th (CORRECTION: 2pm EDT) to learn about a few of our hot forthcoming spring crime novels! It's going to be killer.

Here's the official description:

"May is Mystery Month at Booklist, a time when we indulge our taste for crime. Booklist Online editor Keir Graff will preview online-exclusive feature content, while publishers AudioGO, HarperCollins, Macmillan (!!), Poisoned Pen Press, Seventh Street Books, Random House, and Severn House will share the best titles for libraries from their forthcoming lists. Our mystery webinar gets bigger and better every year!"

booklist webinar thriller

Sign up now to get this puppy on your calendar!

If you want to help us spread the word, retweet the info below:

Read more

The Ultimate #BookBattle2 Webinar Title List

Today at 2pm Talia and Chris (Sterling) are going head-to-head in a reprise of their Oscar-nominated book buzz performance from ALA Annual and you don't want to miss it this time around. Sign up now!

UPDATE: This event is now over. The archived Booklist webinar will be available here soon!

Here's a sneak peek at the books that Talia will be talking about this afternoon (and see her full slide deck here!). WARNING: Major spoilers below!

talia and chris

50 SHADES OF GREY Read-Alikes:

WILD CARD by Lora Leigh

BLUSH by Opal Carew

PANIC SNAP by Laura Reese

TOPPING FROM BELOW by Laura Reese

Adult Titles:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

A KILLING IN THE HILLS by Julia Keller

ROGUE by Mark Sullivan

YOUNG PHILBY by Robert Littell

CHINESE WHISKERS by Pallavi Aiyar

PAW PRINTS IN THE MOONLIGHT by Denis O'Connor

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

THE FORGETTING TREE by Tatjana Soli

THE ELEMENTALS by Francesca Lia Block

GRACE GROWS by Shelle Sumners

HOW I CAME TO SPARKLE AGAIN by Kaya McLaren

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff

THIS BOOK IS FULL OF SPIDERS by David Wong

SHAKESPEARE'S TREMOR AND ORWELL'S COUGH by John J. Ross, M.D.

WE KILLED by Yael Kohen

Teen Titles:

WAKE and LULLABY by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

MIDNIGHT CITY by J. Barton Mitchell

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

And, of course...

PIPPI MOVES IN! by Astrid Lindgren

Read more

UNSHELVED Readers, Here's Your Exclusive Invite to the Epic Book Battle Webinar!

book battle ad

Who? You, silly! And also Talia "The Tiger" Sherer from Team Macmillan and Chris "The Cutie" Vaccari from Team Sterling.

When? Thursday, July 12th, 2pm Eastern.

Where? Your favorite computer screen!

What? "Book Battle II: This Time It’s Personal." Booklist posted an excellent description:

If you missed those legendary book brawlers, Cutie and Tiger (a.k.a. Chris Vaccari from Sterling Publishing and Talia Sherer from Macmillan), mixing it up at recent ALA conferences, now’s your chance to get a ringside seat—right in front of your own computer! The book battle is going virtual.

Some critics charge that Cutie and Tiger have been a bit too nice to one another in their earlier exchanges. No matter. This time they assure us the gloves are coming off. When they climb out of the ring at the end of the hour, they will have left nothing behind—except, of course, for dozens of terrific new-book recommendations.

Don’t miss this free, hour-long Booklist webinar moderator by Adult Books editor Brad Hooper.

Sign up now! Do it! Do it now.

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (7/02/2012 Edition)

Happy Monday, library buddies!

- Today is the last day to enter to win a signed ARC of MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE! Enter here.

- Sign up now for the Booklist webinar version of Book Battle II: This Time It’s Personal!

If you missed those legendary book brawlers, Cutie and Tiger (a.k.a. Chris Vaccari from Sterling Publishing and Talia Sherer from Macmillan), mixing it up at recent ALA conferences, now’s your chance to get a ringside seat—right in front of your own computer! The book battle is going virtual. Some critics charge that Cutie and Tiger have been a bit too nice to one another in their earlier exchanges. No matter. This time they assure us the gloves are coming off. When they climb out of the ring at the end of the hour, they will have left nothing behind—except, of course, for dozens of terrific new-book recommendations. Don’t miss this hour-long, free Booklist webinar moderator by Adult Books editor Brad Hooper. Register here.

- As promised, here's a link to the full read-alike list for The Great Nonfiction Read-Alike Panel from ALA Annual hosted on EarlyWord.com.

As always, Shelf Awareness brought us the good word on some exciting topics this morning:

- HBO will be adapting Tom Perrotta's post-maybe-rapture novel, THE LEFTOVERS! Perrotta and Damon Lindelof (Lost) will co-write the adaptation. More details here.

- They also linked to a very important BuzzFeed list: 12 Cuddly Bookstore Kitties. We highly recommend you take a minute to get to know these literary felines living the dream.

And finally here are two highlights from the Macmillan evening trip to Disneyland during ALA Annual...

Here we are enjoying a little In-N-Out burger before the rides:

in n out burg

And here we are mid-death-drop on Space Mountain:

space mt

Read more

Booklist Webinar: The Murderous Month of May!

booklist webinar

Come one! Come all!

This afternoon at 2pm (Eastern) Talia will be telling you all about our hottest new mystery titles in Booklist's The Murderous Month of May: Hot Mysteries for Spring webinar!

Register right now (link) and then come on back and take a peek at Talia's presentation slides (link).

Read more

Monday Fun Day! (4/23/2012 Edition)

Hello again, librarian friends!

- TxLA was fantastic this year! Thanks to everyone who stopped by our booth and joined us for our author signings, panels, and other events. Please stay in touch! We'll post more about our adventures later this week.

- Congratulations to Tracy K. Smith who won the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry with her collection LIFE ON MARS! See all of this year's winners here.

- Tomorrow join us for Booklist's "The Murderous Month of May: Hot Mysteries for Spring" webinar at 2PM Eastern. Sign up now!

- Will you be in Chicago at the end of April? Join Ali for a book buzz on Monday, April 30 in the Harold Washington Library Center (400 S. State St.) in the Cindy Pritzker Auditorium! A complimentary lunch will be served at 12:30PM and the adult buzz starts at 2PM. Sign up now!

- We already mentioned that DON'T EVER GET OLD, the debut mystery from author Daniel Friedman, is getting great reviews. Well, now it has four(!) starred reviews from Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, Booklist, AND Kirkus Reviews!

- Also we heard a rumor that Cat Fancy featured NO COOPERATION FROM THE CAT by Marian Babson in a "Books for Cat Lovers" article. We wholeheartedly approve.

bunny kiss

Read more