Articles tagged "Amanda Hocking"

Teen Talk Tuesday (2/18/14 Edition)

In honor of today's Early Word YA Galley Chat, we're taking a look at the latest and greatest teen titles from St. Martin's Griffin. Read on, then join us and @earlyword at 5pm EST, hashtag #ewyagc.

ELEGY by Amanda Hocking (Watersong #4, Trade Paperback edition)
The explosive finale to the Watersong series is now available in trade paperback! Gemma holds the key to breaking the siren curse but she'll have to fight Penn in order to save everything and everyone she holds dear.
Also available in the series: WAKE (Book 1), LULLABY (Book 2) and TIDAL (Book 3)

BEFORE MY EYES by Caroline Bock
A powerful new young adult novel about a fateful Long Island summer told from the perspective of three teenagers whose lives will never be the same. "Gripping, disturbing and nuanced." — Kirkus Reviews

THE HAVEN by Carol Lynch Williams
For the teens at The Haven, the world beyond the towering stone wall that surrounds the premises is a dangerous unknown and always has been since the hospital was established in the year 2020. It was built to help control the Disease that claims limbs and lungs–and memories–but what if it's not the safe place it claims to be? Award-winning YA novelist Williams' new novel is "Deliciously enigmatic." — Kirkus Reviews

Hope to see you later at #ewyagc!
Read more

Teen Talk Tuesday (1/21/14 Edition)

Today we're talkin' teen titles! Please save all OMGs & SQUEEs for today's Early Word YA Galley Chat at 5pm EST (@earlyword, #ewyagc). Only kidding-go nuts if you want! PS: Don’t forget to download our 2014 Books for Teens poster – now with more kittens!

TIMESTORM by Julie Cross (Tempest #3)
The battle between the Tempest division and Eyewall comes to a shocking conclusion in this final installment of the Tempest trilogy.
Also available in the series: TEMPEST (Book 1) and VORTEX (Book 2)

FLAME by Amy Kathleen Ryan (Sky Chasers #3)
In the thrilling conclusion to the Sky Chasers series Waverly, Kieran, and Seth struggle to survive on-board the New Horizon—and take down their enemies before it's too late.
Also available in the series: GLOW (Book 1) and SPARK (Book 2)

STORMBRINGER by Shannon Delany (Weather Witch #2)
In the second book in the Weather Witch series, Jordan Astrea learns of her true powers while in the final stages of her brutal training to become a Conductor—the Weather Witch who serves as a living battery to keep the massive airliner Artemesia aloft.
Also available in the series: Weather Witch (Book 1)

TIDAL by Amanda Hocking (Watersong #3, Trade Paperback edition)
Now available in trade paperback for the first time, this spellbinding third book in the Watersong series has Gemma fighting to break a curse in order to save everything and everyone she holds dear.
Also available in the series: WAKE (Book 1), LULLABY (Book 2) and ELEGY (Book 4)

Hope to see you later at #ewyagc (remember, 5pm EST)!
Read more

Books for Teens 2014: WE [heart] YA Griffin Teen!

Books for Teens 2014 posterCue the confetti cannons and cheerleaders: it's time for our annual list of Young Adult books from St. Martin’s Griffin!


Before the celebrations begin, make sure that you’re whitelisted on Edelweiss to download all of our available e-galleys. Click here to find out how to be whitelisted.

If you're already whitelisted, you can find all available Macmillan e-galleys here (please note: you must be logged in and set your search preference to "View titles I may Download or Request." Otherwise, the page will say "No titles met this criteria").

You can also view our Edelweiss collection of Books for Teens titles here.

Read on for the books!

FangirlFANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell

A coming-of-age tale of family, first love, and fan fiction from the talented author of ELEANOR & PARK.

"Absolutely captivating." Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"A funny and tender coming-of-age story that’s also the story of a writer finding her voice. [...] Touching and utterly real." Publishers Weekly, starred review

"This book will find a wide audience, especially among older fans of Harry Potter." School Library Journal, starred review

"This is an epic writ small; the magic here is cast not with wands but with Rowell's incredible ability to build complex, vivid, troubling, and triumphant relationships."Booklist, starred review

#1 LibraryReads September 2013 Selection
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2013
Goodreads Best Books of 2013
School Library Journal Best Books of 2013
2014 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection


TrapTHE TRAP by Andrew Fukuda (The Hunt #3)

In the explosive finale to The Hunt trilogy, Gene and Sissy must protect each other and their only hope: the cure that will turn the blood-thirsty creatures around them into humans again.

"The Hunt trilogy has lived up to the promise of the first book and delivered shocks and drama with every turn of the page." — Booklist

THE PREY by Andrew Fukuda (The Hunt #2) is now available in Trade Paperback


Social CodeTHE SOCIAL CODE by Sadie Hayes (The Start-Up #1)

The drama of Gossip Girl comes to Silicon Valley when eighteen-year-old twins Adam and Amelia Dory launch their new company and find fame and fortune seemingly overnight. But no amount of prestige can prepare them for the envy, backstabbing and cool calculation of their new powerful peers.

"Readers will be both engrossed with and appalled by the shifty universe and deliciously soapy momentum created in this thrilling series opener." — Booklist


Next Big ThingTHE NEXT BIG THING by Sadie Hayes (The Start-Up #2)

In the second installment in the Start Up series, Amelia and Adam are riding high on the successful launch of their new company–until they start to disagree about how to sustain the momentum to keep making it in the competitive world of Silicon Valley.

Read more

ALA Midwinter: Seattle or BUST!

Hello again after the long weekend and also, farewell! We're busily wrapping up affairs before heading out tomorrow for ALA Midwinter. We hope to see you in Seattle!

ala exhibitingWe'll be camping out for much of the conference in booth #2435 talking about and giving away galleys of our most exciting forthcoming titles (take a look at our featured galleys post). When we're not in the booth we'll be attending and hosting the following events:

Book Battle III: Macmillan and Sterling in the Book Buzz Theater

Saturday, January 26th, 1-2pm
Washington State Convention Center | Room 608-609

Macmillan's very own library marketing champion Talia Sherer and her archnemesis Chris Vaccari from Sterling duke it out once again in the third episode of their award-winning Book Battle series! See the full Book Buzz Theater schedule here.

FTRF's Annual Banned/Challenged Author Fundraiser with Jamaica Kincaid

Saturday, January 26th, 7:30-10pm
Town Hall Seattle | 1119 Eighth Avenue

The award-winning writer originally from Antigua will be discussing her 1990 short novel LUCY which was challenged in 1994 as "most pornographic." There will be a wine & dessert reception immediately following the talk. Ms. Kincaid will be signing copies of LUCY and her forthcoming novel, SEE NOW THEN. Suggested donation: $20 General. Questions? E-mail here.

Library Family Feud with Ben Schrank

Sunday, January 27th, 3-4pm
Washington State Convention Center | Room LL4-5

Five Adult Services Librarians will go head-to-head with five popular authors to see who's quickest on the draw to guess the most common librarian responses to some basic questions. Add Library Family Feud to your calendar!

The AAP/Library Journal Annual BookTalk Breakfast with Ben Schrank

Monday, January 28th, 8:30-10am
Washington State Convention Center | Room 301

This annual breakfast will feature several authors including Ben Schrank, author of LOVE IS A CANOE. RSVP required! Details here.

Gala Author Tea with Amanda Hocking

Monday, January 28th, 2-4:00pm
Grand Hyatt Seattle | Leonesa Ballroom

Enjoy a light repast of finger sandwiches and tea as several best-selling authors discuss their writing. Author signings to follow. On-site tickets are $55 each while seats are available. Details and ticket info here.

And when you're not with us in the exhibit hall or at an event, check out some of my Seattle coffee and dessert recommendations (find them here under "The Seattle Scoop")!

Read more

Children's and Teen Librarians Tri-State Book Buzz!

We had a great time talking about forthcoming titles this morning with Children's and Teen Librarians from all over the tri-state area!

AAP YA Book Buzz 2012

Here's a refresher for attendees (and a first look for those who couldn't make it) at the excellent St. Martin's Griffin titles coming in Winter 2013:

Contemporary:

IF YOU FIND ME | Emily Murdoch

ELEANOR & PARK | Rainbow Rowell

USES FOR BOYS | Erica Lorraine Scheidt

Paranormal:

THE HAVEN | Carol Lynch Williams

TIDAL (Watersong #3) | Amanda Hocking

OVERRIDE (Glitch #2) | Heather Anastasiu

DEATH, DOOM AND DETENTION (#2) | Darynda Jones

TEMPEST (Tempest #1) | Julie Cross

VORTEX (Tempest #2) | Julie Cross

THE HUNT (Hunt #1) | Andrew Fukuda

THE PREY (Hunt #2) | Andrew Fukuda

INFERNO (Chronicles of Nick #4) | Sherrilyn Kenyon

Read more

First in the Never-Before-Published Series from Amanda Hocking!

I'm back from sunny Seattle (I can't believe I just said that!) and the brilliant weather got me in the mood to talk about WAKE, the first book in Amanda Hocking's new never-before-published YA paranormal romance series!

From a writer who needs no introduction comes the story of a girl-turned-siren and the new life, loves, and threats she faces while mastering her new siren powers.

io9io9 included WAKE on their list of "All The Science Fiction and Fantasy Books You Can’t Afford to Miss in August." They said, "August's new book releases are just packed with brilliant new ideas and thrilling stories, from some of the world's best writers." We agree!

And Booklist said, "[WAKE] effectively melds myth and contemporary teen life. High school, family, young love, and mythology all combine to create an easy-to-read paranormal suspense story that will have fans eagerly awaiting new installments."

Dive in (mermaid joke!) by watching the book trailer now:

wake trailer

WAKE will be available this month from St. Martin's Griffin.

Read more

The Ultimate #BookBattle2 Webinar Title List

Today at 2pm Talia and Chris (Sterling) are going head-to-head in a reprise of their Oscar-nominated book buzz performance from ALA Annual and you don't want to miss it this time around. Sign up now!

UPDATE: This event is now over. The archived Booklist webinar will be available here soon!

Here's a sneak peek at the books that Talia will be talking about this afternoon (and see her full slide deck here!). WARNING: Major spoilers below!

talia and chris

50 SHADES OF GREY Read-Alikes:

WILD CARD by Lora Leigh

BLUSH by Opal Carew

PANIC SNAP by Laura Reese

TOPPING FROM BELOW by Laura Reese

Adult Titles:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

A KILLING IN THE HILLS by Julia Keller

ROGUE by Mark Sullivan

YOUNG PHILBY by Robert Littell

CHINESE WHISKERS by Pallavi Aiyar

PAW PRINTS IN THE MOONLIGHT by Denis O'Connor

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

THE FORGETTING TREE by Tatjana Soli

THE ELEMENTALS by Francesca Lia Block

GRACE GROWS by Shelle Sumners

HOW I CAME TO SPARKLE AGAIN by Kaya McLaren

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff

THIS BOOK IS FULL OF SPIDERS by David Wong

SHAKESPEARE'S TREMOR AND ORWELL'S COUGH by John J. Ross, M.D.

WE KILLED by Yael Kohen

Teen Titles:

WAKE and LULLABY by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

MIDNIGHT CITY by J. Barton Mitchell

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

And, of course...

PIPPI MOVES IN! by Astrid Lindgren

Read more

Bad Boy and Wake: 2013 BFYA Nominees!

You know what, guys?

We never properly celebrated the fact that two of our totally stellar teen titles from St. Martin's Griffin were officially nominated for YALSA's 2013 Best Fiction for Young Adults reading list!

Well, it's never too late to party, so let's hear it for...

BAD BOY
Dream Jordan

Kate has been institutionalized her entire life, but things start to look up when she connects with a handsome stranger. But can she heed the warning signs of his abusive behavior?

WAKE
Amanda Hocking

Gemma's graceful swimming draws the attention of Penn, Thea, and Lexi, the gorgeous newcomers to her sleepy beachside town. But popularity isn't everything, and the dark secret they harbor threatens everything.

YALSA compiles this annual list to provide librarians with a resource to use for collection development and reader's advisory purposes.

The selection committee will discuss all of the excellent nominations at ALA Annual next month and finish their deliberations at Midwinter in January during which the final BFYA list will be selected and announced!

Read more

Boston Book Buzz: For Teens!

The Boston Book Buzz is currently underway!

For those of us following along at home check out the hastag #bostonbookbuzz and I've listed below all of the teen titles that Talia will be presenting (see her slide show here)!

FIERCE READS

STRUCK by Jennifer Bosworth

OF POSEIDON by Anna Banks

MONUMENT 14 by Emmy Laybourne

SHADOW AND BONE by Leigh Bardugo

Also see: FierceReads.com

MORE TITLES FOR TEENS

WAKE by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK and GLOW by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

Read more

Well Done, New York Times Best Sellers!

This is the time of year that Talia and I are of the busier of the busy bees (maybe that's why we're buzzing so much lately??) and we end up missing some of the totally rad week-to-week Macmillan excitement.

So when Talia paused for 1/23 of a second to sip her coffee this morning and glanced at The New York Times Book Review Best Sellers list for May 27, she did a double-take and then called me in to talk about how many of our awesome books are on the list.

We high-fived about it.

To give these books a pat on the back, a nod of approval, and a "well done, champ!" I've listed them below:

Print Hardcover Bestsellers – FICTION

#3 BRING UP THE BODIES by Hilary Mantel

#11 THE SINS OF THE FATHER by Jeffrey Archer

#14 A DOG’S JOURNEY by W. Bruce Cameron

Print Hardcover Bestsellers - NONFICTION

#4 MOST TALKATIVE by Andy Cohen

#6 KILLING LINCOLN by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard

Print Paperback Bestsellers – TRADE FICTION

#20 WOLF HALL by Hilary Mantel

Print Paperback Bestsellers – NONFICTION

#11 SEAL TEAM SIX by Howard E. Wasdin and Stephen Templin

Print Bestsellers Advice, How-To and Miscellaneous - HARDCOVER

#4 THIS IS HOW by Augusten Burroughs

Print Children's Best Sellers - SERIES

#9 The Trylle Trilogy by Amanda Hocking

Print Hardcover and Paperback Combined – FICTION

#8 BRING UP THE BODIES by Hilary Mantel

#20 THE SINS OF THE FATHER by Jeffrey Archer

Print Hardcover and Paperback Combined - NONFICTION

#7 MOST TALKATIVE by Andy Cohen

#9 KILLING LINCOLN by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard

#32 THINKING, FAST AND SLOW by Daniel Kahneman

Editor's Choice

FARTHER AWAY by Jonathan Franzen

"The theme of human struggle against the pulls of solipsism and narcissism illuminates every page of the novelist’s essays."

OBLIVION by Héctor Abad. Translated by Anne McLean and Rosalind Harvey.

"Abad’s highly personal coming-of-age story is also a sociopolitical portrait of Colombia."

Read more