Articles tagged "A Killing In The Hills"

People Loves Minotaur Mysteries!

No, that title does not contain a grammatical error; I'm talking about People Magazine, people!

People selected a few books for their "Summer Thrills & Chills" feature and two thrilling/chilling Minotaur titles made the list: Julia Keller's debut, A KILLING IN THE HILLS, and Chelsea Cain’s latest, KILL YOU TWICE!

people

On A KILLING IN THE HILLS they said, "A twisty plot—and a soulful depiction of a beautiful, besieged ‘afterthought of a town’—propels this debut mystery about a prosecutor fighting drug traffickers in Appalachia."

On KILL YOU TWICE they said, "Just when Portland, Ore., detective Archie Sheridan was reveling in serial killer Gretchen Lowell’s confinement to the psych ward, she contacts him with leads about a grisly new murder. Shades of SILENCE OF THE LAMBS."

Read more

FOUR STARS for A Killing in the Hills!

We already mentioned that Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Julia Keller's debut novel, A KILLING IN THE HILLS, is getting killer reviews. Now we get to say that it has officially received (read: rightfully earned) FOUR pre-pub starred reviews!

Take a look:

"Keller does a superb job of showing both the natural beauty of Appalachia and the hopeless anger of the people trapped there in poverty. [...] The ensemble cast is unforgettable. So is this novel." -Publishers Weekly (starred review, Pick of the Week)

julia keller"A page-turner with substance and depth, this is as suspenseful and entertaining as it is accomplished." -Booklist (starred review)

"[A] superbly detailed and suspense-drenched mystery. Share with Linda Fairstein, Meg Gardiner, and Lisa Gardner fans." -Library Journal (starred review, Debut of the Month)

"[A] mystery that has plenty of twists and turns and a shocking conclusion." -Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

A KILLING IN THE HILLS will be available in August from Minotaur Books.

Read more

The Ultimate #BookBattle2 Webinar Title List

Today at 2pm Talia and Chris (Sterling) are going head-to-head in a reprise of their Oscar-nominated book buzz performance from ALA Annual and you don't want to miss it this time around. Sign up now!

UPDATE: This event is now over. The archived Booklist webinar will be available here soon!

Here's a sneak peek at the books that Talia will be talking about this afternoon (and see her full slide deck here!). WARNING: Major spoilers below!

talia and chris

50 SHADES OF GREY Read-Alikes:

WILD CARD by Lora Leigh

BLUSH by Opal Carew

PANIC SNAP by Laura Reese

TOPPING FROM BELOW by Laura Reese

Adult Titles:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY by Louise Penny

A KILLING IN THE HILLS by Julia Keller

ROGUE by Mark Sullivan

YOUNG PHILBY by Robert Littell

CHINESE WHISKERS by Pallavi Aiyar

PAW PRINTS IN THE MOONLIGHT by Denis O'Connor

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

THE FORGETTING TREE by Tatjana Soli

THE ELEMENTALS by Francesca Lia Block

GRACE GROWS by Shelle Sumners

HOW I CAME TO SPARKLE AGAIN by Kaya McLaren

MR. PENUMBRA'S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

STORMDANCER by Jay Kristoff

THIS BOOK IS FULL OF SPIDERS by David Wong

SHAKESPEARE'S TREMOR AND ORWELL'S COUGH by John J. Ross, M.D.

WE KILLED by Yael Kohen

Teen Titles:

WAKE and LULLABY by Amanda Hocking

BENEATH THE GLITTER by Elle & Blair Fowler

ECHO by Alyson Noel

DEATH AND THE GIRL NEXT DOOR by Darynda Jones

WHISPERS AT MOONRISE by C.C. Hunter

THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers

SPARK by Amy Kathleen Ryan

GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu

MIDNIGHT CITY by J. Barton Mitchell

THE HUNT by Andrew Fukuda

And, of course...

PIPPI MOVES IN! by Astrid Lindgren

Read more

Starred Reviews for A Killing in the Hills

A KILLING IN THE HILLS is Julia Keller's debut novel, but she's far from new to writing. As a journalist with the Chicago Tribune, Killer won the Pulitzer Prize. Now that she's turned her skilled pen to fiction the starred reviews are stacking up!

In Acker's Gap, West Virginia three elderly men are gunned down over their coffee at a local diner. No one knows if it was random or if it was connected to the spate of drug violence plaguing poor areas of the country just like Acker's Gap. One of the witnesses to the brutal incident is Carla Elkins, 17-year-old daughter of Bell Elkins, the prosecuting attorney for Raythune County, WV. Carla is in shock over the events, but soon recovers enough to believe that she might be uniquely placed to help her mother do her job. After all, what better way to repair their fragile, damaged relationship? That is, unless Carla sacrifices her life to solve the crime.

"Chicago Tribune Pulitzer-winning journalist Keller has fashioned a debut mystery with an impeccably paced plot, supple prose, and indelibly drawn characters [...]. A page-turner with substance and depth, this is as suspenseful and entertaining as it is accomplished." -Booklist (starred review)

"Keller does a superb job showing both the natural beauty of Appalachia and the hopeless anger of the people trapped there in poverty. Some characters turn out to be better than they appear, some much worse, but the ensemble cast is unforgettable. So is this novel." -Publishers Weekly (starred review, Pick of the Week!)

Read more