We are Macmillan Library!
Are you a librarian? Awesome!
We are here to help.

Free Speech Rules!

Fifty years ago today (October 1), students at the University of California at Berkeley surrounded a campus police car on the school’s main plaza and held it captive for 33 hours. This non-violent protest in the fall of 1964 launched the Free Speech Movement, the first major campus protest by white students of the sixties.

Seth Rosenfeld captures the evolution of this movement and the FBI’s secret efforts to stifle student power in his New York Times bestselling book SUBVERSIVES: The FBI’s War on Student Radicals and Reagan’s Rise to Power.

At the heart of the movement were three iconic figures who clashed at Berkeley during the 1960s: the ambitious neophyte politician Ronald Reagan, the fierce but fragile radical Mario Savio, and the liberal university president Clark Kerr. Through their converging narratives, Rosenfeld tells a dramatic and disturbing story of FBI surveillance, illegal break-ins, infiltration, planted news stories, poison-pen letters, and secret detention lists, creating a cautionary tale about the dangers of excessive secrecy and unchecked power that resonates powerfully today.

Praise for SUBVERSIVES:

readmoreremove

We’re all about ALL THE RAGE!

We’re hopelessly devoted to Courtney Summers. We’ve been fans of her raw and realistic teen fiction since the very beginning. We were heartbroken by “Perfect” Parker Fadley’s shame spiral in CRACKED UP TO BE, watched the Fearsome Fivesome crumble in SOME GIRLS ARE, mourned the loss of Eddie Reeves’s father in FALL FOR ANYTHING and wondered about the end of the world in THIS IS NOT A TEST.
And now, her hardcover debut, ALL THE RAGE, is finally available on Edelweiss. And O-M-G!

We’re not the only ones going crazy for this breakout YA novel—Early Word YA Galley Chatter and Head of Youth Services Librarian at Los Alamos County Library System, NM, Angie Manfredi has this to say:

“In ALL THE RAGE, Courtney Summers gives a voice to countless teenage girls our society has turned our back on—the ones so many of us try to ignore. With a confident, fearless, incisive, and even compassionate heart, Summers allows these girls to be seen and heard again. A YA game changer along the lines of Laurie Halse Anderson’s SPEAK, this is a work of great power and resonance and I believe it can give a new generation of teen girls a voice.”

WOW. So don’t wait—get whitelisted on Edelweiss and find out why we’re all about ALL THE RAGE.

Happy #BookBday (9/30/14 Edition)

party-cat

Today we wish a big ‘ol #BookBday to:

ON IMMUNITY by Eula Biss
National Book Critics Circle Award-winner Biss’s examination of and ultimately, support for vaccines is an October 2014 Indie Next pick, a BEA Librarians “Shout ‘n Share” pick, has three outstanding starred reviews, and just recently was announced as a finalist for the inaugural Kirkus Prize for nonfiction!

THE ASSASSINATION OF MARGARET THATCHER by Hilary Mantel
Man Booker Prize winner Mantel’s latest is a brilliant collection of contemporary short stories (you can even read one in its entirety here!). “The stories in Mantel’s new collection reflect her interest in human frailty and assaults of all kinds, from the most intimate to those by or against the state.”
Publishers Weekly

THE PERFECT WITNESS by Iris Johansen
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Johansen comes an explosive new thriller about a woman with the ability to read people’s memories who is living safely in Witness Protection—until her cover is blown. “This page-turner builds to a breathless conclusion.” — Publishers Weekly
readmoreremove

Excitement Building for Kristin Hannah’s THE NIGHTINGALE

“I loved Kristin Hannah’s The NightingaleShe has captured a particular slice of French life during World War II with wonderful details and drama. But what I loved most was the relationship between two sisters and Hannah’s exploration of what we do in moments of great challenge.”–Lisa See, author of New York Times bestseller Snow Flower and the Secret Fan

I read The Nightingale in one sitting, completely transported to wartime France… A historical novel–built on Kristin Hannah’s proven skill with story, complex and enduring family ties, and passion…”–Marilyn Dahl, Editor, Shelf Awareness

“My wife came home as I was on the final few pages…she wondered why I was sobbing. What a read, She immediately took it from me. Powerful and interesting on many levels as only great historical fiction can be.”–David K. Cully, EVP, Baker & Taylor

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy of THE NIGHTINGALE.

Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted!

readmoreremove

Stars for PRO

Our #FridayReads pick is Katha Pollitt’s highly acclaimed PRO: Reclaiming Abortion Rights.

In PRO, Politt reframes abortion as a common part of a woman’s reproductive life, one that should be accepted as a moral right with positive social implications. In clear, concise arguments, Pollitt takes on the “personhood” argument, reaffirms the priority of a woman’s life and health, and discusses why terminating a pregnancy can be a force for social good.

Naturally, PRO is stirring up discussion—and getting tremendous praise! It’s one of Flavorwire’s Fall 25 Must-Reads, one of Publishers Weekly‘s Top 10 Social Science Books of Fall, is on Lena Dunham’s bookshelf, and has received two starred reviews:

“An impassioned, persuasive case for understanding [abortion] in its proper context… With wit and logic, Pollitt debunks the many myths surrounding abortion, and analyzes what abortion opponents really oppose: namely, women’s growing sexual freedom and power…. With arguments that are both lucid and sensible, Pollitt successfully reframes the abortion debate to show that, ‘in the end, abortion is an issue of fundamental human rights.’” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“In this powerful pro-choice treatise, Pollitt, the well-known feminist, poet, and award-winning columnist for the Nation, expertly lays out why she supports a woman’s right to decide whether to end a pregnancy.” Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Sign Up Now: “Fall Into a Good Mystery” Booklist Webinar

Booklist-FallIntoMystery-webinar

Just in time for Halloween, tune in to Booklist‘s “Fall Into a Good Mystery” webinar on Tuesday, October 29th at 1pm Central.

Talia “the terror” Sherer will be sharing the best and bloodiest new mysteries from Macmillan (OK, they’re not all bloody… no need to be so squeamish).

Click here to RSVP. See you there—it’s going to be killer!

BONUS STARS for Archer Mayor!

It’s a gloomy Thursday here in NYC, but we’re smiling thanks to the two starred reviews for Archer Mayor’s latest Joe Gunther novel!

Praise for Archer Mayor’s PROOF POSITIVE:

“Over 26 years and 25 books (most recently, 2013’s Three Can Keep a Secret), Joe Gunther has moved from police detective in Brattleboro, Vt., to special agent of the Vermont Bureau of Investigation, and, as he has grown in stature, so has the series. Mayor makes full use of Gunther’s excellent supporting cast, including Willy Kunkle, Lester Spinney, and Sammie Martens, in this smoothly plotted and absorbing mystery.”Publishers Weekly, starred & boxed review

“From its palpably brilliant opening—a queasy sneak thief casing Ben’s bizarre compound—to the uncertain denouement with a U.S. senator who makes our real senators look like pillars of rectitude, Proof Positive is another riveting addition to one of the finest series in crime fiction. A circuitous plot, finely drawn characters, and Mayor’s evocative, writerly grace notes—e.g., a paean to non–Big Box hardware stores and the charms of southern Vermont’s towns and villages—make this a must-read for crime lovers.”Booklist, starred review

Thriller Thursday (9/25/14 Edition)

It’s #ThrillerThursday at the Macmillan headquarters and you know what that means!

GOODHOUSE by Peyton Marshall

In a dystopian society, when DNA testing sends questionable kids to prison-like schools, the only thing they grow to learn is fear.

“Marshall’s novel moves well, and the adolescent James is convincingly off-balance throughout. The result is a genre-bending thriller with a literary voice that at times trades heart for velocity but ultimately pleases.”–Publishers Weekly

“A cut above the strong recent crop of dystopian futures, with a sympathetic protagonist, a believably degenerated society, and harrowing pacing, this deserves a wide audience.”–Library Journal, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy of GOODHOUSE.

Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted!

THE HAUNTING BALLAD by Michael Nethercott

Journey back to 1950s Greenwich Village as the mismatched duo of O’Nelligan and Plunkett investigate murder in the music scene.

“Plunkett’s wry first-person narrative offers an arresting perspective on this section of pre–Mad Men society, and courtly Irish O’Nelligan once again (The Séance Society, 2013) steers his young friend toward the right conclusion. A strong second entry in the series.”–Booklist

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy of THE HAUNTING BALLAD.

Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted!

WOULDN’T IT BE DEADLY by D.E. Ireland

After the events of My Fair Lady, this historical debut begins with the death of Henry Higgins’ chief rival, who’s claimed credit for Eliza Doolittle’s transformation.

“A charming teaming of Eliza, Professor Higgins, and Major Pickering make for an engaging light historical mystery…”–Library Journal

SILENT MURDERS by Mary Miley

In the second Roaring Twenties mystery, former Vaudeville actress Jessie Beckett goes undercover in the silent film industry to solve a murder.

“Readers will enjoy the novel’s taut climax, cameos by famous and future stars, and a resourceful heroine who uses her acting skills in investigating and escaping from trouble.”–Publishers Weekly

“Jessie’s adventures provide readers with a well-researched glimpse at life in Jazz Age Hollywood. Readers who enjoy Jacqueline Winspear and Carola Dunn will want to follow this series.”–Booklist

Share your bone-chilling reads with us @MacmillanLib this #ThrillerThursday.

Sneak a peek at Hilary Mantel’s new book!

Any time Man Booker Prize winner Hilary Mantel has a new book, we can’t wait to get our grubby little paws on it. Her latest, THE ASSASSINATION OF MARGARET THATCHER, is a brilliant collection of contemporary short stories.

The New York Times ran the title story in this past weekend’s Book Review—you can read it right now!

readmoreremove

Four Stars for My True Love Gave to Me

Good morning my dear librarians!

Love is in the air thanks to Stephanie Perkins’ collection of short romantic holiday-themed stories with contributions from her YA pals David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell among others.

“Rich language and careful, efficient character development make the collection an absorbing and sophisticated read, each story surprisingly fresh despite the constraints of a shared theme. It’s that rarest of short story collections: There’s not a single lump of coal.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Cute boys, mistletoe, counting down to the midnight kiss on New Year’s Eve—there’s no shortage of cozy setups for holiday romance in this captivating collection of short stories by a dozen of today’s top YA authors. Readers will also find a broad cross-section of other emotions and relationships in these tales about the significance of varied holiday traditions. A rare seasonal treat.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Holiday canoodling stories by twelve of the top YA authors? It’s a Christmas miracle! This is the substantive stuff of dream stockings: a rollicking, blush-inducing, memorable holiday collection of breezy, bite-sized stories perfect for a snug evening next to the fire.”–Booklist, starred review

“Never mind the winter holidays; booktalk this title all year round.”–School Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

css.php